Health: Government Health Resources

Nutrition.gov is a USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices.

U.S. National Laboratory of Medicine site giving advice and links for finding out how lab or diagnostic tests are performed, what the results mean, and what the normal range is for the test.

Part of the National Institutes of Health, this site contains a variety of alternative health information and resources.

A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). See also PubMed@Rice University.

Part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this site contains statistical data for a vast variety of health topics, publications, and more.

Serves as a system for tracking integrated health, exposure, and hazard information and data from national, state, and city sources. Includes maps, tables, and charts with data about chronic diseases/conditions as well as chemicals/substances in the environment.

Branch of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services which supports and conducts medical research.

Provides invasive species information from local, state, national, and international sources.

Part of the National Institutes of Health containing the world's largest online medical library.

Collection of Toxicology databases from the National Library of Medicine.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources including the PubMed Central digital archive. The PubMed @ Rice University implementation also contains links to the full texts of articles that are part of the Rice University journal subscriptions.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) web page as well as its many agencies. Those include: Administration for Children and Families (ACF), Administration on Aging (AoA), Agency for Healthcare Reasearch and Quality (AHRQ), Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Indian Health Services (IHS), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).

Released to the public on April 14, 1997, this atlas is the first to show all leading causes of death by race and sex for small U.S. geographic areas referred to as Health Service Areas (HSA's). The 18 causes of death included in this atlas account for 83 percent of all deaths in the United States during 1988-92. In addition to maps with age-adjusted death rates for each HSA, the atlas includes maps that compare each HSA rate to the national rate, smoothed maps for each cause that show the broad geographic patterns at selected ages, and a chart with regional rates for each cause of death.

Contains maps of: Heart Disease, All Cancer, Lung Cancer, Colorectal Cancer, Prostate Cancer, Breast Cancer, Unintentional Injuries, Motor Vehicle Injuries, COPD, Pneumonia & Influenza Diabetes, Suicide, Firearm Suicide, Liver Disease, HIV, Homicide, Firearm Homicide, All Causes.

One of the agencies within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services containing a variety of health and safety topics as well as health statistics.

Search and retrieval system from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) which integrates information from databases such as PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Center for Disease Control page containing information about a wide range of environmental health concerns ranging from air pollution to radiation to health on a cruise ship. Searchable directory includes a monthly journal and supplement that provides the latest environmental research articles and news. Access to some data may be available only in the Government Publications and Microforms Department with librarian assistance. Produced by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.

Contains a wealth of environmental topics, reports, laws, and more.

FDA (a branch of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) is responsible for advancing the public health by innovations that make medicines and foods more effective, safer, and more affordable; and keeping the public informed in order to get accurate, science-based information they need to use medicines and foods to improve their health.