Job Search : Company Information

Background information (go back 2 years) can be found in:

SEC filings – look at older fillings such as Annual Report and 10K which can be found in our Company databases such as Hoover’s, Mergent Online and ThomsonOne  Use Internet Explorer when accessing ThomsonOne.

NetAdvantage – once you pull the company record up, on the left side of the screen there is a list, click on Corporation Records and at the top of the next screen is a dropdown menu with years.  

International Directory of Company Histories – will give history but depending when the information was last updated can be fairly current.

ThomsonOne – offers five years of analyst reports companies. Use Internet Explorer when accessing ThomsonOne.

Journal/Newspaper Articles – the journal databases go back many years and allow for searching by date or date range.  Search the two most current years and you will have done background and current search at one time.  Tip:  always search the local newspapers where the company is located.  Most local papers can be searched in Nexis Uni.

• ABI/Inform                                   
• Business Source Complete
• Factiva                                         
• Nexis Uni                                                                

Current Information (6 months – 1 year) can be found:

SEC filings – current filings can be found on company’s web site or in

• Business Insights: Essentials                    
• Hoover’s                                               
• Mergent Online                                     
• Plunkett Research Center                                   
• ThomsonOne  Use Internet Explorer when accessing ThomsonOne

Company Databases – the various company databases gives only current information except for the financials which can go back 3-15 years.

Analyst Reports – current reports are in ThomsonOne.

Journal/Newspaper Articles – the journal and newspaper databases will allow you to pull up the most current articles first.

• ABI/INFORM                  
• Business Source Complete                                
• Factiva                                           
• Nexis UNI                                                       

A Research Guide with more information can be found here: Public Company Information.

Determine if your company is public, private, subsidiary or division by using LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations. (HG4057 .A219)

It may be hard to find any company information on a private company which makes industry information very important.

Background information (go back at least 2 years)

Company Databases that cover private companies are few in number.  They only give current information so will not help with background information.

Journal/Newspaper Articles – the journal and newspaper databases will allow you to search by date or date range.

• ABI/INFORM
• Business Source Complete
• Factiva              
• International Directory of Company Histories – some of the larger private companies are covered in this source. 
• Nexis Uni                      

Current information

Company Databases:

• Hoover’s - coverage for large private companies
• Reference USA - best source for private company information

Current information (6 months – 1 year) can be found

Journal/Newspaper Articles – the journal and newspaper databases will allow you to pull up the most current issues.

• ABI/INFORM
• Business Source Complete
• Factiva                            
• Nexis Uni 

A Research Guide with more information can be found here: Private Company Information.