Kid's Page - Government Information: Adolescents, Agencies, Arts, (Gov) Branches, Energy, Environ.

The Game Plan for Engaging Youth summarizes ideas for engaging adolescents in promoting their health and healthy development.

the nation's largest and most comprehensive residential education and job training program for at-risk youth, ages 16 through 24. Private companies, state agencies, federal agencies, and unions recruit young people to participate in Job Corps, where they can train for and be placed in jobs.

The Division for Adolescent and School Health has put together educational materials that address topic areas related to adolescent health including: Health Services, Health Behaviors, What Works in Schools.

Youth Advisory Councils (YACs) provide ongoing advice and support to school districts on policies and practices that affect students.

The Office of Population Affairs (OPA) launched Youth Create! as part of its own youth engagement efforts. OPA invites young people ages 13 to 21 who have participated in OPA’s grantee programs to respond to prompts each year. Then, youth share their videos, poems, stories, art, photos, and voice recordings.

Youth Engaged 4 Change is a website that provides youth-focused resources and opportunities that inspire and empower young people to make a difference in their lives and in the world around them by improving their knowledge and leadership skills.

Comprehensive site from the U.S. Department of Education for a wide variety of education topics organized for students, parents, teachers, and administrators. Includes lesson plans, career and technical information, study abroad opportunities, performance reports, standards, fact sheets, speeches, financial aid, grants, and initiatives. Access the Blog tab for discussions of current educational issues.

Site provides United States Census information and resources for kids.

U.S. Treasury site for kids contains information such as what is a coin, games and activities, coin collecting, coloring book, fun facts and much more.

Part of the U.S. Depatrment of Labor, this page provides links to kids and youth labor related pages such as: Career Information from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), Careervoyages.gov, Disability Employment Policy Resources for Youth, Employment and Training Administration's (ETA) Youth Programs, Jobcorps, and more.

Part of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), this site provides students, parents, and teachers with youth-geared information and resources related to agriculture.

National Archives coloring book with retro patents ranging from the practical to the bizarre.

Linked list of coloring books published by Federal government agencies. The site has not been updated since 2010. Not all the links work.

Learn about the Congress. The site is designed for young learners from grade school to High school. Teachers can also find teaching resources from this site. The site is created and maintained by the Office of the Clerk, U.S. Capitol.

Founded and led by Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, iCivics goal is to reinvigorate civic learning through interactive and engaging learning resources. Find games for kids (running for President, passing new laws, and arguing real cases) and resources for teachers and parents.

Part of the Department of Energy's Energy Information Administration, this site contains resources and information such as energy facts, history, fun learning aids, and resources for teachers.

Bureau of Land Management (part of the U.S. Department of the Interior)website containing learning resources for students, parents, and teachers.

Part of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, this site provides students, parents, and teachers with resources and information pertaining to the environment.

Part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this site contains invasive species information (both U.S. and International) and educational resources for grades K-12. Subjects include aquatic species, plants, animals, microbes, economic impacts, laws, regulations, and much more.

Resources for exploring GIS with young learners. Most target readers from Kindergarten through 4th grade, but younger children may enjoy parents guiding them through. (from website)