Scientific Illustration: Home
A guide meant to introduce people to the fascinating field of scientific illustration, an intersection of art and science, which helps people visualize otherwise unseen details and concepts
Welcome!
Welcome to the scientific illustration research guide! This guide is meant to introduce people to the fascinating field of scientific illustration, an intersection of art and science, and help them find resources such as image databases and professional organizations.
Here on the Home page, you will find links to books and web resources relating to scientific illustration.
On the Using and Accessing Scientific Illustration page you will find Rice-specific resources and links to databases to help incorporate scientific illustrations into your projects.
Finally, on the Additional Guides page, you will find links to other helpful Rice research guides, such as one over the properly finding and using images in publications.
Not finding what you are looking for? Click here to suggest a purchase.
Books About Scientific Illustration
The Guild Handbook of Scientific Illustration by ISBN: 9780471360117Publication Date: 2003-05-29Sponsored by the Guild of Natural Science Illustrators and written by top illustrators, scientists, and industry experts, The Guild Handbook of Scientific Illustration is an indispensable reference guide for anyone who produces, assigns, or simply appreciates scientific illustration.
A Handbook of Biological Illustration by ISBN: 9780226997018Publication Date: 1961This book is designed to help biologists who must create their own illustrations and artists who are confronted with unfamiliar biological subjects. The author, an experienced biological illustrator, gives practical instructions and advice on the consideration of size and of printing processes, choice of materials, methods for saving time and labor, drawing techniques, lettering methods, and mounting and packing the finished illustrations. She explains how to produce clear and attractive charts, graphs, and maps, so essential to science publications.
Preparing Scientific Illustrations by ISBN: 0387945814Publication Date: 1995-12-01"Learn the strengths and weaknesses of different forms of visual presentations. Understand when to use a figure, and how much information can be represented in one. See examples of bad, good, and better graphs and tables."- Scientific Illustration byISBN: 9780804709965Publication Date: 1938-01-01This book describes the correct procedures for preparing illustrations for scientific publications. Ridgway focuses on three types of illustrations: drawings, photos, and maps.
- Scientific Illustration: A Guide to Biological, Zoological, and Medical Rendering Techniques, Design, and Display byISBN: 9780442293079Publication Date: 1979-04-01This book aims to provide comprehensive advice on creating graphics for scientific publications to assist those wishing to pursue a career at the intersection of art and science.
Web Resources
- Guild of Natural Science Illustrators"The Guild of Natural Science Illustrators is an association of individuals who communicate science visually and clarify scientific ideas. GNSI brings together these individuals and provides networking and professional development opportunities."
- Association of Medical Illustrators"The Association of Medical Illustrators furthers the use of visual media to advance life sciences, medicine, and healthcare through a worldwide network of specialized interdisciplinary professionals."
- Biodiversity Heritage Library"The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as a part of a global biodiversity community."
- Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical IllustrationThe New York Public Library's online collection of over 200 images/titles related to scientific and medical illustration.
- Anatomia Collection: anatomical plates 1522 - 1867A site of over 4,500 full-page prints from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. People can browse through these wonderful images by either searching for specifics or by browsing through them (organized by artist or by subject).
- Illustrated Classics of Engineering from the William Barclay Parsons Collection and OthersOne of the New York Public Library's digital collections, compiling illustrations used in civil and mechanical engineering.
- National Museum of Natural HistoryThe Smithsonian Natural History Museum's website where you can find online tours of some of their prominent exhibits.
- After Acceptance: How to Turn Your Research into Cover ArtAn article by Richard Threlfall about how to create cover art for research publications.
Author Information
This guide and its graphics were created by Raiya Myren '23.
If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to reach out to the UX Office: fondrenux@rice.edu
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University