"Rice's institutional repository, a web site where the university's intellectual output is shared, managed, searched, and preserved. Most materials come from Rice faculty members' research, electronic theses and dissertations, and digitized collections of rare or unique books, images, musical performances, and manuscripts."
The website of the Rice Gallery (1995 - 2017), archiving past exhibits.
Some of these image databases have images that are only approved for academic use. If you have any concerns or questions regarding copyright law, check out our guides over copyright and image usage linked in the Additional Guides page.
A database of photos and images that can be searched by subject and keywords. "Most graphics are available for use in the public domain, and may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. Some images may be protected by license - read the disclaimers on each site."
"Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. Institutions that subscribe to Shared Shelf, a Web-based service for cataloging and managing digital collections, can share their images with the world via the Commons (ARTstor)"
"Content includes approximately 1.9 million images covering art, architecture, and archaeology."
*Same provider as Shared Shelf Commons, but when you login in with Rice credentials you have access to more images*
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library. Including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.