LibGuides: Sociology: Statistics & Opinion

Opinion Polls

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations compiles 300,000 questions & responses from more than 12,000 surveys conducted in the U.S. and 70 other countries.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Data from surveys of public opinion (1930s+). Most data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. Contains surveys from the United States, as well as from Europe, Latin America and Asia. The Archives also contain election poll data, as well as Japanese, Latin American, and Canadian data archives.

Other Related Fondren LibGuides

Data Sources

Sources for Statistics

FedStats This link opens in a new window
Statistics from over 100 federal agencies.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR provides access to a vast archive of social science data. ICPSR is a membership organization; as an "ICPSR Direct" member (courtesy of Rice's membership), you can register for a personal password and download information directly from ICPSR.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics enables non-technical users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.
Accessing SimplyAnalytics

Users are not required to log-in with a user name and password, however, their work will not be saved using this method which is located at the bottom of the SimplyAnalytics log-in page - "To create a temporary account, click here. Your work will not be saved.”

Creating an account in SimplyAnalytics

To make sure your work is saved, it is necessary to create an account. To create an account, click on “create an account" a the top of the Welcome screen. It will take you to a new screen asking for your email address and password. Check the box agreeing with the End User License Agreement and then click “Continue.” A confirmation e-mail will then be sent to your e-mail address. If you do not receive this email within two minutes, please check your SPAM folder.

Click on the activation link in the confirmation e-mail, and your account will be activated and ready to use. You may now go back to the Welcome login page, enter your e-mail address and password, and start using SimplyAnalytics.

Note: There is a download limit of 50MB total per semester per user per database.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information with the ability to create thematic and interactive maps and reports. Includes data on religious congregations.

Note: Users who want to bypass the option to create their own account can click on the Maps&Tables link to access the Social Explorer database.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Free Archives from U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
A digest of statistics from U.S. government departments.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.
Formerly known as LexisNexis Statistical.

Get Help

Anna Xiong

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

713.348.6212