Study Break Resources: Home
Welcome!
Need a break? This guide to fun, relaxing resources is for you! This guide is intended to help students find resources and events to enjoy when they need a break.
Take a deep breath, relax, and then get back to studying with a clear head. You've got this!
Table of Contents
Home - On this page, you will find Rice-specific resources and events.
Videos, Podcasts, and More - Here you will find suggestions for relaxing videos, podcast, and literature to enjoy.
Puzzles - Here you will find puzzles that you can play without even leaving this libguide!
Free Online Resources for Owls!
Did you know that as Rice Owls you have free subscriptions to streaming services and newspapers? Here is a list of some services that are worth checking out!
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStream educational and documentary videos, including the following collections: 1) Feature Films for Education; 2) World Cinema Collection; and 3) Science Video Collection.
- HBO MaxSimply go to the HBO Max website, click Sign Up / Login, when it asks for your information select "Sign In with a Provider", hit the option to see "All Providers", scroll down to Rice University, and sign in using your Net ID and password. You will then be able to create an account linked to your email.
- Houston Chronicle This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Houston Chronicle's website and mobile app, including access to archives Click on "more" for steps to register your account.
- Unlimited Access to The New York TimesThis link from the library website will help you set up your New York Times account using your Rice credentials for the first time.
- Rice Subscription: The Wall Street JournalThis link from the library website will help you set up your Wall Street Journal account using your Rice credentials for the first time
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowThis collection consists of full-length streaming motion pictures and television programming. Fondren Library subscribes to Swank's Top 1000 list.
Other Fun and Insightful Libguides!
Libguides for Staying Relaxed:
- Cats Videos on the WebA gentle introduction to Internet cat videos. Cruelty free.
- Leisure ReadingLooking for a good book? A guide offering various ways to find out about fiction available in Fondren Library and beyond.
- Finding Recordings of Rice Shepherd School of Music Concerts and RecitalsNeed more classical music in your life? This guide includes resources, like the Shepherd School of Music Digital Archive, which will allow you to listen to concerts and recitals from Rice Owls of the past, all from the comfort of your dorm room (or home)!
- Houston Folk Music ArchiveDid you know Houston had a flourishing folk scene? This guide highlights archival collections, rare books, films, oral histories, and online exhibits, collected in hopes of preserving Houston's local art scene from the 1960s-1980s.
- The Fondren Music Collection for VistorsMusic and studying go hand in hand! This guide gives an overview on how to find and research music in Fondren Library, from running advanced catalog searches to websites dedicated to local musical groups.
Libguides for Staying Healthy:
- Wellbeing CenterA guide all about Rice's Wellbeing Center. Don't be afraid to reach out if you need help managing your stress!
- Government Health ResourcesIllness tends to strike at the least opportune moments, including around finals. This guide contains federal, state, local, and international government health resources.
Libguides for Staying Studious:
- Off-Campus (Remote) Library ServicesHaving trouble finding studying material while fully remote? This guide is dedicated to the library resources and services for Rice faculty, staff, and students who are working remotely. Our digital resources are available anywhere with an Internet connection!
- Fondren Library Services for Online StudentsThis guide is dedicated to helping fully remote students navigate online resources and get the most out of Fondren from a distance.
- NewspapersA guide all about accessing newspapers, through both Fondren resources and freely available online newspapers.
Author Information
This guide was created by Raiya Myren, '23 (a former Fondren Ambassador) and is maintained by the Fondren UX Office: fondrenux@rice.edu
Library Art Tour
Do you want to learn more about the art decorating Fondren?
Look no further than the Fondren Library Art & Cultural Objects Tour!
This tour goes floor by floor, with individual listings with photographs, audio descriptions, and transcripts of Fondren Library's art collection. You can also download a one page PDF of the list with floor maps showing the location of each piece.
Woodson Research Center
Hopefully, you've heard of the Woodson Research Center, which collects, preserves, and describes Rice University Archives, Rare Books, and Manuscripts. But did you know that you can access some of this fascinating material remotely?
Check out the Rice University Research Repository (R-3) to research produced at Rice University, including theses and dissertations, journal articles, research center publications, datasets, and academic journals.
Check out the Woodson Research Centers Online Exhibits, which feature photographs, letters, and other documents from the Center's collections, including Around the World with Edgar Odell Lovett, the Life and Work of architect William Watkin, Rice University Presidents and Provosts, and Business and Pleasure on Houston's Waterways.