LibGuides: Baker Institute Research: Presidential Elections

Data Sources

CQ Voting & Elections Collection
Data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material on U.S. elections.
Polling the Nations
Questions & responses from more than 12,000 surveys conducted in the U.S. and 70 other countries.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL)
Data from surveys of public opinion and election polls from the 1930s onward, from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia.

MIT Election Lab
Our lab is a clearinghouse for data sets that can fuel studies on elections and how they're conducted. Find election data and research tools produced by us and others.
ElectionStudies.org
Visuals and dataset from American National Election Studies.

NYT Politics

Finding Literature

Congressional by ProQuest
View historical and current U.S. Congressional publications covering a range of issues, including the electoral college, Russia interference in U.S. 2016 election, and more.
CQ Press Library
Resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy and data analysis for the social sciences (Sage).
Access to: CQ Almanac (analysis of major legislation), CQ Researcher, CQ Magazine (reports acts of Congress since 1983 ), Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Voting and Elections Collection.

Fondren does not have access to Supreme Court Yearbook Online and Public Affairs Collection.
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Reference and overview articles on American government, comparative politics, international relations, public policy, public administration, political behavior, political theory, and political science methods.
JSTOR
Online, full text access to scholarly journals from first publication date to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present--i.e., the most recent 2-5 years' worth of issues will not be available at any given time. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, full-text, discipline, year, and article type.
Law, Politics and Radical Studies
Collections include:
- Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988
- Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988
- Election of 1948
- FBI File: Alger Hiss/Whittaker Chambers
- FBI File: Assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr
- FBI File: House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC)
- FBI File: Watergate
- Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
- JFK's Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
- Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
- Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President's Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
- Presidential Election Polls, 1988: The Gallup/Conus Reports
- Rise and Fall of Senator Joseph R. McCarthy
- Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929
- The Minority Voter, Election of 1936 and the Good Neighbor League
Legal Collection
Full-text scholarly law journals.
National Journal
Weekly publication discussing conventions and policy for the most recent election.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Reference articles, news, academic journals, editorials, and other resources on social and political issues, with the aim of providing multiple perspectives. Searchable by topic.
Oxford Academic
Collection of scholarly ebooks and journals from Oxford University Press.

Fondren owns access to the following subjects: Classical Studies, Philosophy, Political Science and Psychology. Browse by subject and look for the green unlock symbol to find accessible content.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Index of journal articles, books, statistical directories, government documents, grey literature, conference papers, and other publications in public policy, with links to the full text where available.
While the index itself has little fulltext, Fondren has 'linked' to our online journal subscriptions - click on the FullText@Fondren icon.
Political Science - Oxford Bibliographies Online
Curated lists and guides of articles, books, and other publications on ideas, practice, and methodologies in the field of political science, with publication information and links to either the full text (when available at Fondren) or to request the item through interlibrary loan.
Politics - Oxford Research Encyclopedia
Peer-reviewed encyclopedia entries and in-depth essays on important people, concepts, theories, and events in politics.