Baker Institute Research: Tax & Budget Policy

Federal and state tax law, tax legislation highlights and tax news.

Information on industry developments, current news, global market activity, global companies, and other business statistics and facts.

Please see the Advanced Search Guide from the BIC for instructions on using this database.

Information about industries, companies, and leading executives.

Research reports on thousands of global industries. and covering economies in Australia, Canada, China, Germany, Ireland, Mexico, New Zealand, the UK and the US.

Reports, analysis, and articles on the stock market, commodity futures, ETFs, and mutual funds; also includes webinars on investing and other wealth strategies.

S & P Global NetAdvantage provides access to industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research.

Comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market, and the economy.

ABI/INFORM is part of the database ProQuest One Business.

Full-text academic journals, dissertations, working papers, and business and economics periodicals. The ABI/Inform Collection is made up of several products: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry and ABI/INFORM Dateline.

Profiles of companies and industries, with the ability to compare different companies. Includes reference materials, company fundamentals and histories, investment information, research reports, industry rankings, market reports, and news and journal coverage. Some limited information about private corporations.

Full text of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and other business-related disciplines.

Full-text database that provides publishing and bibliographic information and abstracts of over 400 journals of economic research, books, dissertations, and working papers.

News, company information, market information, legal cases, law (U.S. federal, state, and international law), briefings, codes, and regulations.

Index of journal articles, books, statistical directories, government documents, grey literature, conference papers, and other publications in public policy, with links to the full text where available.

View historical and current U.S. Congressional publications covering a range of issues, including tariff policies, inflation, bank regulation, the federal budget process, and more.

Offers short biographies for members of the House and Senate. Also contains information about other Federal departments, agencies, & congressional committees (finance, taxation, budget, etc.).

Datasets and statistics related to social science and demographics. Since Rice is an ICPSR member institution, Rice students, faculty, and staff can register for a personal password and download information directly from ICPSR using a rice.edu email address.

Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.

Up-to-date statistical data from over 18,000 sources.

Mergent Market Atlas provides powerful and user-friendly search capabilities, along with an easy-to-learn interface. It offers access to a wide range of reports and data, including:
Refinitiv global equity pricing and consensus estimate data, FTSE Russell ESG Reports, Mergent Industry and Economic Reports, Dunn &Bradstreet Country Risk Profile and Country RiskLine reports.