Photographs of oil exploration in Texas and Louisiana, 1930s-1950s, taken by Shell Oil employee Andy A. Barentine.
The bulk of this material consists of business records of the Brown & Root firm and Brown Shipbuilding Co., relating in particular to building projects and joint ventures with other companies such as Zapata Offshore, Texas Gulf Sulphur and ARMCO Steel, as well as internal operations of the firm. Formats include correspondence, internal memos, project site drawings, photographs, reports, notes, and news clippings.
Correspondence, oral histories, notes, news clippings, reports, published materials, photographs and ephemera in this collection document the family and business lives of Houston entrepreneurs Herman and George R. Brown, providing the basis for author Christopher Castaneda and Joseph Pratt's book, Builders : Herman and George R. Brown
The collection consists of correspondence, photographs, personal records, genealogy books, memorabilia, audio and visual materials, and ephemera collected by Nancy Cravens Chamberlain and representing the lives of her grandfather, Joseph Stephen Cullinan; her parents, Mary Cullinan and James R. Cravens; and herself and her siblings.
This collection contains audio/visual materials, publications, and photographs from the years 1920's-2011 related to El Paso Corporation. The El Paso Corporation system included Coastal Corporation, Colorado Interstate Gas, El Paso Natural Gas, Southern Natural Gas, Tennessee Gas Pipeline, and Ruby Pipeline.
The collection consists of material representing the work of Abraham J. Teplitz, research scientist-engineer at Gulf Oil Research and Development Company, from 1926 through 1966. It includes technical reports either authored or jointly authored by Teplitz, a specialist in the technology of oil well drilling. Also included are two notebooks related to patents and a folder of memorabilia and one of photographs.
The Herbert Allen papers include personal holdings, including biographical information, honors and awards, and personal correspondence. In addition papers dealing with his professional activities and patents are included, as are those dealing with his involvement with Rice University. Allen was an inventor and mechanical engineer who graduated from Rice Institute in 1929 where he later served on the Board of Governors and as Chairman of the Board of Trustees.
Research materials related to the publications and unpublished works of author/historian and public relations consultant James A. Clark. Included are materials related to Three Stars for the Colonel: The Biography of Ernest O. Thompson, The Tactful Texan: A Biography of Governor Will Hobby, Book of Oil, Petroleum Rectifying Company of California, Hughes Tool Co., Pan American Sulfur Company, Robert A. Welch, C.D. Lockwood, Admiral J.J. Clark, and syndicated columns “Petroscope” and “Tales of the Oil Country.” The materials deal directly with the oil industry primarily in the years of 1930-1960s.
Business papers, correspondence, photographs and memorabilia related to the James Lockhart Autry family of Texas (1875-present) and of North Carolina (1832), Tennessee (1824-1840) and Mississippi (1840-1875) show the lifestyle of a family who moved into Texas and played an important role in developing both the social and economic framework of Houston. Among the business papers are correspondence and legal briefs from the terms Autry served as general counsel to the Texas Company, president of Fidelity Trust Company, and vice-president and general counsel of the American Republics Corporation.
The materials in this collection are from the Houston-based Kirby Petroleum Company and the records of George Sawtelle, president and later chairman of the company to 1965. This collection consists of 2.5 cubic feet of photographs, correspondence, business records, clippings, and technical papers. The primary correspondents are John H. Kirby, Clint Murchison, Cooper Ragan, and George Sawtelle. This material provides a valuable look at the early days of the oil industry in Texas. In particular, this collection documents through correspondence the concerns and business goals of oil men from the 1920s through the 1940s.
The collection consists of research materials collected for the purpose of writing historical texts about the natural gas industry. Included are articles about people and companies active in the industry, as well as published works and videos.
Audio recordings and administrative files reflecting the daily business of the KTRU Radio station at Rice University. Recordings include newscasts, interviews with rock, jazz and classical musicians, Rice Presidents’ State of the University speeches and recorded live music. Administrative records include radio directors’ meeting minutes, “Gripes and Groans” books from the DJ booth, programming notes, election forms, DJ handbook, licensing information, and correspondence.
This collection documents the business history of the Roy Huffington Oil Company, also known as Huffco. There are photos, correspondence files, videos, as well as awards and speeches that Roy M. Huffington gave while he served as CEO and president of the company. Most of the information highlights the Badak liquefied natural gas plant, founded by Huffco Inc. in early 1972.
The personal and professional papers of Roy M. Huffington contain correspondence, photographs, awards, and audio visual materials. His civic duties are the bulk of this collection.
The collection consists of materials from and related to the term of Rush Moody, Jr. on the Federal Power Commission from 1971 to 1976.
Correspondence, scrapbooks, business papers, ledgers, tributes and memorials, audiotapes of oral history interviews, clippings, photos, and other papers of Sharp and his wife, Estelle (Boughton) Sharp, active in Houston, Tex., civic and philanthropic affairs. Topics include oil industry, lives of the Sharp family, Howard Hughes family, growth of Houston, Spindletop Oil Field, founding of the Texas Company and Sharp-Hughes Tool Company, and establishment of United Charities.
Over one half of the collection documents cattle ranching, oil prospecting, and banking in Texas, as well as personal and family life during the Great Depression. The William Allen Haynes collection offers a view of living conditions of a prosperous Central Texas rancher and entrepreneur as well as providing information on conditions in Texas in the first part of the 19th century.