History - Government Sources: Maps

Includes historic district maps plus zip codes, super neighborhoods, council district, and annexation history maps among others.

Includes over 60,000 historic maps covering the world.

World War II thematic maps that include topics from home and the frontlines from the beginning of the war through occupation. Includes week-by-week breakdown of U.S. participation and practical postwar information such as details about the GI Bill and descriptions of post-war countries.

Commercial site that provides free online access to historic and current aerial photography (1930s to today). Offers multi-year comparison tools to detect changes in property. Images provided by USGS, USDA, DNR and numerous private organizations.

Online maps from the first third of the 19th century through the first half of the 20th century that focus on the "geo- and socio-political developments and changes within Texas, the cities of Houston (including selected sub-divisions) and Galveston, and regions beyond the state’s borders."

View historic US topo maps from different time periods and scales.

British Library digital images of huge maps bound in a volume and presented to King Charles II of England by Dutch merchant Johannes Klencke in 1660.

Library of Congress Americana and cartographic digital images created from maps and atlases not covered by copyright protection and organized by historical eras.

Nonphotographic representations of cities portrayed as if viewed from above at an oblique angle showing street patterns, individual buildings, and major landscape features in perspective.. Panoramic maps were popular during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Extensive collection of digitized contemporary and historical maps on a variety of themes, including the Sanborn maps of Texas.

Includes progress report surveys for individual lines, official government surveys, promotional maps, maps showing land grants and rights-of-way, and route guides published by commercial firms.

American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection (UWMilwaukee) World War I maps

Deselect all Content Types except Maps, and then enter search terms.

This is a description of the atlas that has been available from Texas Tech University, but the link is not working. The atlas, if working, includes interactive maps and downloadable data for Texas counties available in 4 versions: (1) ArcIMS Map Services, (2) County Basemap Series, (3) Shaded Relief Map Series, and (4) Satellite Relief Map Series.

Provides online access to over 100,000 historical documents, photographs, maps, and publications including local newspapers and college yearbooks.

Texas A&M University site that includes range maps for various bird species. Data is from 1987-1992. Includes links to other bird breeding atlases.

Land grant records and maps dating to the 18th century that detail the passage of Texas public lands to private ownership. Contains more than 35.5 million documents and 45,000 maps, dating back to the year 1720, tracing the history of Texas' public land. Offers maps and sketches for sale and a search portal to locate them.

Texas Historical Commission site with statewide, county, and specialized information such as historical markers.

Historical Texas county maps from 1993-1996. See current TXDOT maps at http://www.txdot.gov/inside-txdot/forms-publications/maps.html

University of Richmond free online atlas that "maps major social developments like the forced migration of slaves before the Civil War and patterns of immigration to the United States from 1850 to 2010."