History - Government Sources: Military, Security

Updates http://www.AirForceHistoryIndex.org with additional mostly 20th century Air Force materials including unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more.

Scroll to historical to see historical Department of Defense (DoD) procurement and data files.

Archival collection of the trophies, medals, prizes, decorations, uniforms, flags, swords, battle souvenirs, personal papers, documents, records and other personal memorabilia of General George MacArthur. Records are available on 35mm microfilm for interlibrary loan or for purchase.

Congressional Medal of Honor Society. Similar information can be found at the National Medal of Honor Museum

Library of Congress Veterans History Project with links to collections of books, documents, published unit histories, photographs, medals, and artifacts from all US branches of military service.

Declassified Nazi and Japanese war criminal records and additional resources such as Web links, finding aids, research papers, and names, terms and Holocaust timelines.

Field manuals of the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) which conducted intelligence gathering and analysis and waged unconventional warfare during World War II.

Fully searchable database of papers thought to be lost forever because of a fire in 1800 that destroyed the War Department. The Center for History and New Media at George Mason University spent 10 years retrieving and digitizing papers scattered in archives throughout the U.S., Canada, England, Scotland, and France. The collection is significant because during this time period the War Department was also responsible for Indian Affairs, veteran affairs, and naval affairs.

Contains manuscripts, photographs, artifact images, and military/defense agency publications such as orders, regulations, doctrinal guides, and technical information. Includes resource guides and finding aids

Texas Tech site with the mission of collecting and preserving the documentary record of the Vietnam War. Includes "photographs, slides, maps, periodicals, audio, moving images, and books related to the Vietnam War, Indochina, and the impact of the war on the United States and Southeast Asia." Records are from individuals, veterans' organizations, and scholars.

Series of monographs developed during the war in Vietnam by the U.S. Army to serve as an interim report before the official post-war histories were written.

This links to the archive of live presentations on April 26-28, 2016 at UT Austin's LBJ Presidential Library available after those dates.

Brandeis University World War I and World War II Propaganda Posters collection includes nearly a hundred different images promoting the two war efforts. Requests to publish material from the collection should be directed to the Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections Department.

Alan Taylor's twenty-part series of 900 pictures and over 20 essays published in TheAtlantic.com during the summer and fall of 2011. The 20 parts are linked on this page for quick access by topic to stunning pictures from the U.S. and war zones that help viewers experience what WWII was really like.

Northwestern University provides access for a cost-recovery fee to high resolution digital images for over 300 posters from government agencies from the onset of the war through 1945.

Amazing collection of materials on anything that could affect U.S. security including gangs, hurricanes, school violence, domestic terrorism, sea piracy and much more. Many are available without signing in. Sign in to see the full collection.

Keep us with the latest issues threatenting U.S. security.