History - Government Sources: African American, Archives/Museums, Civil Rights

National Archives site with post-Civil Ward research records pertaining to the the United States Colored Troops (USCT), Buffalo soldiers, District of Columbia emancipation records, the Freedmen's Bureau, Freedman's Bank, and WPA Slave Narratives.

Thurgood Marshall Law Library at University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

National Register of Historic Places travel itinerary that tells the story of how and where the centuries-long struggle of African Americans to achieve freedom and equality culminated in the mid-20th century in the modern civil rights movement.

Part of The Library of Congress' American Memory, this site is dedicated to the collection of 2,100 early baseball cards dating from 1887 to 1914 including many baseball legends.

The National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public. (from their mission statement)

Part of the Library of Congress' American Memory, this site contains The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections featuring architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies.

Detailed guides to primary source material which provide fuller information than that normally contained within cataloging records. This page provides links to all the archival finding aids at the Library of Congress which have been encoded in SGML using Encoded Archival Description (EAD).

Amazing collection of digital images, many transferred from the American Memory site. Covers a wide variety of topics from politics and government to geography to art and the performing arts. The pages remaining under American Memory are The American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920; A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875; The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920; and Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929

Collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials representing the fields of ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology. Among numerous other items the agency houses the research reports and records of the American Bureau of Ethnology. Digital versions of the Bureau's annual reports are available from Gallica, the National Library of France.

Provides online access to portraits of individuals who have made significant contributions to American life and culture.

Official list of U.S. cultural resources worthy of preservation.

"Open-access initiative (from the Harvard Law School Library) to create, present and make accessible digitized images of the Library’s Nuremberg documents, document descriptions, associated transcripts in both full-text and image formats and general information about the trials."

Part of The Library of Congress' American Memory, this site is dedicated to the collection of photographic portraits by American photographer Carl Van Vechten between 1932 and 1964. The collection consists of figures from the Harlem Renaissance and various American landscapes.

Provides links to view the treasures covering a wide range of interests housed at the many different Smithsonian museums including the new African American History and Culture Museum. For those unable to visit exhibits at the museums in Washington, D.C., online exhibits such as those organized by the American Art Museum are available

Texas Archeological Research Laboratory Texas map with archeological and historical sites linked to detailed information.

Land grant records and maps dating to the 18th century that detail the passage of Texas public lands to private ownership. Contains more than 35.5 million documents and 45,000 maps, dating back to the year 1720, tracing the history of Texas' public land. Offers maps and sketches for sale and a search portal to locate them.