Regulations/Statistics/Women/Writing - History - Government Sources

Regulations - History

EPA History
Contains a variety of historical documents about the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the environmental movement.
Federal Register
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. The years 1990 to the present are available from the Government Printing Office's govinfo.gov linked above. Issues from 1936-1993 are available online through an agreement between Hein Online and the Library of Congress. Print issues are not currently received. Microfiches are available in various call numbers. Please ask Kelley Center staff for assistance. See also Sources and Tools to the Federal Register.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The print edition is available in the Gov Stacks AE 2.106/3. The above link is the online version from 1996-current year updated annually with different sections updated each quarter. Editions from 1938-1995 are available through an agreement between Hein Online and the Library of Congress (LOC). Search LOC's catalog.
See also Sources and Tools to the Code of Federal Regulations.

Votes for Women
Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921.
Votes for Women: Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920
Pictorial partner for the text documents in Votes for Women.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970
Two-part Bicentennial edition of historical U.S. statistics available as a PDF. For those wanting to download data to create tables and spreadsheets, see also the commercial database, Historical Statistics of the United States below.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Current & Archive Editions) This link opens in a new window
"The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States." See the ProQuest Statistical Abstract LibGuide for tips on using the database.

Writer's Guide to Government Information
Website from Daniel Cornwall, a former U.S. Federal Depository Library Coordinator, designed to point authors to government-related resources that will help them add realistic details to their stories. Provides such things as realistic questions that can be answered with a particular resource and links to other related resources. Includes many historical resources.
Fiction Writer's Guide to Reality: Government Information Resources that Provide Facts for Your Fiction
Librarian Kari Nyren Mofford's updated version of Daniel Cornwall's "Writers Guide to Government Information." Mofford condensed the Table of Contents to three categories and included an extensive subject index.