French and Francophone Studies: Books and Articles
OneSearch and Subject Databases
OneSearch searches across all of the library's book holdings, most of our journal articles, plus much other material.
The Subject Databases (listed in the next tab) let you focus your search for articles and books within a focused subject area.
The other catalogs on this page focus mainly on book holdings, but include other types of materials. You would probably not use them to find articles.
Search the Library Holdings in OneSearch
OneSearch - enter your keywords below.
- OneSearch will find books, e-books, periodicals, films, music scores and CDs, audio recordings, government publications, archival materials, maps, as well as individual journal or newspaper articles.
- To find the location of a call number consult this "stack location guide".
Didn't find what you need? Try the following options:
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat, available on the FirstSearch interface, is a combined catalog for over 70,000 libraries in 170 countries. The information is updated daily.
- Interlibrary Loan (aka ILLiad)If Fondren Library does not have the book or article you need ...
Finding Journals
This Journals search allows you to search for Fondren's journal holdings in all formats (print, online, and microfilm). Enter the title of the journal. To find journal articles, use OneSearch or a library database.
When you follow a link from the Journals search or OneSearch, you may need to enter your NetID and password to access the materials. Please see our remote access instructions for assistance in using these resources when away from campus.
French Catalogs
- CalamesCatalog of archives and manuscripts in academic libraries.
- Catalogue Collectif de France (Union Catalog of France)Provides a single search interface for the three major French catalogs: the Catalog of Digitized Municipal Library Collections; Bibliothèque Nationale Française (BnF) catalogue général; and the University Documentation Catalog.
Digital Libraries
- Gallica, Bibliothèque numérique de la BnF (BnF Digital Library)Provides access to public domain and copyrighted digital material. These collections consist of printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music and others), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, videos, etc.) and sound recordings.
- Google Books This link opens in a new windowThe full texts of books and journals no longer in copyright.
- Hathi TrustMillions of books in the public domain are available online, but others have copyright restrictions.
- Réseau francophone numériqueBrings together digital documents from participating francophone countries around the world.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University