LibGuides: French and Francophone Studies: Primary Text Collections

Online Text Collections

ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
Resources include the Main ARTFL Database, French Women Writers, Provençal poetry, Journal de Trévoux, Textes de Français Ancien, the first edition of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, the Montaigne Project (full-text searching of Les Essais), full text version of Pierre Bayle's Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th ed., 1740) and full-text dictionary searching.
Electronic Enlightenment: Letters and Lives This link opens in a new window
Electronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century — reconstructing one of the world's great historical “conversations”.
EE provides immediate access to 70,057 historical documents. Listen in on the first global social network as 8,560 historical figures discuss everything from religious tolerance to animal rights, vulcanology to classical archeology, economic modelling to celebrity culture.

Gallica, Bibliothèque numérique de la BnF (BnF Digital Library)
Provides access to public domain and copyrighted digital material. These collections consist of printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music and others), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, videos, etc.) and sound recordings.
L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
The contents of the locked private case of the BNF, "made up of more than 2,400 literary works, manuscripts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs" considered immoral and/or pornographic.