French and Francophone Studies: Film
Film Studies
For a variety of resources on film studies see the Film Research Guide.
Online Media
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowA source for streaming documentaries from Films for the Humanities and Social Sciences. Many complete films and film exerpts are included.
- Gallica, Bibliothèque numérique de la BnF (BnF Digital Library)Provides access to public domain and copyrighted digital material. To find videos in the collection, click on the down arrow next to the "Tout Gallica" search box at the top of the page, and select "videos".
- Institut Nacional de l'Audiovisuel - INA This link opens in a new windowOver 100,000 TV and radio shows available online, browsable by decade, topic, etc. It's free to view or listen to the clips, and they can be purchased for download.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowA collection of films available to stream on demand from a variety of producers covering many different subject areas. Includes a growing collection of international films.
Note: If using a public PC in the library, users need to use Firefox.
- Squid TVProvides links to live streams of television stations across the world.
French film directors, and more
Encyclopedia of French Film Directors by ISBN: 9780810869394Publication Date: 2009-09-01This e-book identifies every French director who has made at least one feature film since 1895. Nearly 3,000 directors are cited here, and each director's entry contains a brief biographical summary, including dates and places of birth and death; information on the individual's education and professional training; and other pertinent details, such as real names (when the filmmaker uses a pseudonym). The entries also provide complete filmographies, including credits for feature films, shorts, documentaries, and television work.
- Films de FranceSite offers quick information on French films, actors, directors and more. This is a good source for details on the latest releases.
Official French Websites
- Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée (CNC)Governmental agency in France designated to promote and preserve French cinema.
- UniFranceUniFrance, administered by French state authorities, is the organization in charge of promoting French Cinema throughout the world.
This website provides up-to-date news about French films abroad, including box office results and film festival screenings and awards.
Please note that some services and publications are restricted to UniFrance subscribers.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University