LibGuides: Bioengineering: Articles

Finding Articles

Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.

When links are not available, use the Journals tab on the Fondren Library website to find access points for journals in electronic format.

Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Onesearch to search for journals not found online.

For indexes in other subject areas, see Fondren's list of Indexes and Databases .

For information about remote access, please see the following link:

Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection "provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more (ProQuest)."
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of abstracts from life sciences journals. Part of the Web of Science.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Ebooks is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks. Ebook collections such as ENGnetBASE and CRCnetBASE are subsets of this collection.

ETHXWeb
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and new articles related to bioethics and professional ethics. For ethics related to human genetics see GenETHX.
GenETHX
This collection contains bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, biobanks, etc. These citations cover the literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals.
Faculty of 1000: F1000
Faculty of 1000 is the publisher of three unique services that support and inform the work of life scientists and clinicians.

Medline (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 16,950,000 records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
NTIS.Gov (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Billed as the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research (1964+) sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation indexes for journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other publications across multiple disciplines.

Applied Science and Technology Index
Call Number: T1.A2 I5 - Reference Collection
Indexes articles from the more popular periodicals in science and technology. (1958 - )
Bibliography of Bioethics
Call Number: R724.A1 A2 W34 - Reference Collection
Lists English language books, essays in books, journal and newspaper articles, court decisions, bills and laws, and audiovisual materials concerned with ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of health related topics. (1975 - )