Bioengineering: Reference Sources
A guide to Bioengineering resources in Fondren Library
Print Dictionaries
- Biotechnology from A to Z byCall Number: TP248.16 .B33 2004 - Reference CollectionProvides clear, up-to-date guidance to the ideas and terminology of biotechnology. Features 300 entries and includes newly coined terms used in the biotechnolgy field. Organized alphabetically for quick reference.
- Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology byCall Number: R121 .J86 2002 - Reference CollectionProvides chemical structures and molecular weights of commonly used chemicals, drugs, antibiotics, naturally occurring compounds, products of DNA recombinant technology, and substances of environmental concern. Consists of more than 30,000 entries.
- A Dictionary of Genetics byCall Number: QH427 .K55 2006 - Reference CollectionDefines terms of the post-genomic era and includes not only strictly genetic terms, but also genetics-related words encountered in the scientific literature.
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics, and Proteomics byCall Number: QH427 .R43 2003 - Reference CollectionIncludes more than 2000 entries contributed by worldwide experts in genomics and proteomics. The entries comprise in-depth essays written in concise, lucid language and illustrated with dull-color figures as well as extensively cross-referenced keyword entries.
Online Reference Sources
- Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publication in the field of bioengineering. (1999 - )
- Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
Provides instructions for the essential methods used in every major area of molecular biological research.
- Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
Contains more than 450 articles covering all apsects of genomics, proteomics, bioinformatics and related technologies.
- Proteome BioKnowledge Library
Incyte's BioKnowledge® Library is a collection of six database volumes, each containing fundamental biological information about proteins in different organisms, so scientists can quickly access information about proteins of interest. This information is hand-curated from the scientific literature and edited by experts in relevant biological disciplines.
- Science.gov
Provides a gateway to over 50 million pages of provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. The library and its lectures are organized by series. The Synthesis platform provides the user with access to content in PDF with live links to references and sophisticated search and personalization functions. (2005-)
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
Contains over 350 peer reviewed article on all aspects related to the field of bioengineering.
Print Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- Biomaterials and Bioengineering Handbook - Donald L. Wise
- Call Number: R857 .M3 B5686 2000 - Fondren – General Stacks
Covers information on a wide range of biomaterials from polymers to metals and ceramics. - The Electrical Engineering Handbook. 3rd Ed. Sensors, Nanoscience, Biomedical Engineering, and Instruments - Richard C. Dorf
Call Number: R857 .B54 E44 2006 - Reference Collection
Provides complete reference in the fields of: signal processing, electronics, electromagnetics, electrical effects & devices, and energy, circuits and the emerging fields of communications, digital device, computer engineering systems, and biomedical engineering. - Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology: Fermentation, Biocatalysis, and Bioseparation
Call Number: TP248.3 .F57 1999 - Reference Collection
Presents the applications and established theories in biotechnology, focusing on industrial applications of fermentation, biocatalysis, and bioseparation. - Encyclopedia of Medical Genomics and Proteomics
Call Number: RB155 .E52 2005 - Reference Collection
Offers trail-blazing studies and authoritative contributions from more than 400 specialists on molecular diagnostics, genomics, microbiology, genetics, pharmacogenetics, pathology, forensics, tissue and cell typing, and disease susceptibility. It features coverage of key methods and technologies such as predictive genetic and pharmacogenetic testing and tissue typing for transplantatio. It compiles recommendations, research, spanning critical subjects such as DNA sequencing, point-of-care testing, quality management, oncology, cancer screening, and ethical issues related to genetics. - Encyclopedia of Imaging Science and Technology - Joseph P. Hornak
Call Number: TA1632 .E53 2002 - Fondren - General Stacks
Provides coverage of imaging science and technology from a diverse range of applications, techniques, and fields of study. Can assist scientists, engineers, and physicians to better understand the science behind imaging techniques. - Encyclopedic Handbook of Biomaterials and Bioengineering - Donald L. Wise
Call Number: R856 .A3 E52 1995 - Reference Collection
Provides an exhaustive treatment of materials used in or on the human body, ranging from biopolymers for controlled release drug delivery systems to metal plates used in bone repair and absorbable devices such as sutures. - Handbook of Bioengineering - Richard Skalak
Call Number: R856 .H36 1987 - Reference Collection
Provides authoritative summary accounts of the various topics that comprise the field of bioengineering. - Merck Index 14th Edition
Call Number: RS51 .M4 2006 - Reserve Desk
Indexes more than 10,000 monographs dealing with chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. - Methods in Modern Biophysics - Bengt Nölting
Call Number: QH505 .N65 2006 - Fondren - General Stacks
Surveys and explains the ten key biophysical methods, including those related to biophysical nanotechnology, scanning probe microscopy, X-ray crystallography, ion mobility spectrometry, mass spectrometry, proteomics, and protein folding and structure. - Physics in Medicine & Biology Encyclopedia: Medical Physics, Bioengineering and Biophysics - T. F. McAinsh
Call Number: R895 .A3 P47 1986 - Reference Collection
Provides discussions of medical topics in terms of the physics theories that are used.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University