Chemistry: Print Reference Sources
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
Covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. Gives clear and concise coverage of laboratory techniques, chemical engineering, and environmental matters, plus entries on such topics as buckminsterfullerene, fullerite, quasicrystal, oscillating reaction, and one-pot synthesis.
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II, From Biology to Nanotechnology
Call Number: QD474 .C65 2004 - Reference Collection
Surveys new developments in more than 200 newly commissioned chapters with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science, and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.
Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry
Call Number: QD415 .C63 1999 - Reference Collection
Collects all aspects of chemistry of natural products. The breakdown of the subject is primarily by class of compounds, connected by common biosynthetic relationships.
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds - J. E. Macintyre
Call Number: QD148 .D53 1992 - Reference Collection
Gives fundamental information on more than 42,000 of the most important and useful inorganic compounds. Supplements provide information on newer compounds and revised data on compounds already listed.
Dictionary of Natural Products (CD-ROM)
Call Number: QD415 .A25 D53 v.11.2 2003 - Reference Desk
Covers over 80,000 organic substances including all natural products contained in the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Antibiotics, Dictionary of Alkaloids, Dictionary of Drugs, and Dictionary of Terpenoids. Complete descriptions and physical data are included as well as extensive bibliographies.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Call Number: QD246 .D5 1996 - Reference Collection
Gives physical, structural, and bibliographic information for over 150,000 organic compounds.
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds - J. Macintyre
Call Number: QD411 .D53 1995 - Reference Collection
Covers just organometallic compounds giving physical, structural, and bibliographic information.
Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis - Louis Frederick Fieser
Call Number: QD262 .F5 - Reference Collection
Gives structural and physical properties of reagents, including preferred methods of preparation or purification.
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds - David R. Lide
Call Number: QD257.7 .H36 1994 - Reference Collection
Gives physical, chemical and spectral data for over 25,000 compounds.
The Merck Index : An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals
Call Number: RS51 .M4 2006 - Reserve Desk
Gives full descriptions of chemicals and drugs that include variant names, trademarks, properties, formulas, and uses.
Organic Syntheses
Call Number: QD262 .O7 - Reference Collection
For a searchable index, including structure searching see their website.
Provides checked laboratory methods for preparing organic compounds.
Rodd's Chemistry of Carbon Compounds; A Modern Comprehensive Treatise
Call Number: QD251 .R62 - Reference Collection
Gives comprehensive data on carbon compounds.