DEI & Accessibility at Fondren, Rice University: Resources
Information to support DEI & Accessibility at Rice University.
Books
- Fondren DEIA Book CollectionA curated list of DEIA books available from Fondren.
Indigenous Knowledge by Call Number: GF50 .I5195 2017ISBN: 9781780647050Publication Date: 2017-12-28
Underserved Populations at Historically Black Colleges and Universities by ISBN: 9781787548428Publication Date: 2018-11-12
Disability in Practice by Call Number: HV1568 .D5688 2018ISBN: 0198812876Publication Date: 2018-09-26
Black Feminism Reimagined by Call Number: HQ1197 .N37 2019ISBN: 1478000597Publication Date: 2019-02-08
When Misfortune Becomes Injustice by Call Number: K3260.3 .Y39 2020ISBN: 1503605418Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Fondren Adaptive Technology Room
The newly renovated Adaptive Technology Room in Fondren is now open. It features a refreshable Braille display, Kurzweil 3000 and 1000 scan and read systems for learning disabilities and visual impairments (respectively), desks with adjustable heights, an accessible chair, specialized computer software like JAWS screen reading and Zoom Text, TDD/TTY phones, and more. Visit the circulation desk to borrow the key.
Fondren Research Guides
- Resources related to Slavery and Racial Injustice at Rice UniversityThis guide provides resources which would be useful in exploring any connections of Rice University to slavery or other forms of racial injustice.
- Government Resources on Anti-RacismA celebration of achievements by African Americans and a recognition of their central role in U.S. history. Learn more about Black History Month and National Black American Inventors Day.
- Black Lives Matter ResourcesThis page helps connect the Rice community with resources about the Black Lives Matter movement and the interplays of race, class, and policing in the United States.
- Asian American Materials in Special CollectionsManuscript collections, newspapers, oral histories, books and more from Asian Americans available via the Woodson Research Center, in partnership with the Chao Center for Asian Studies.
- Imperial FeminismResources for the phenomenon of imperial feminism--a specific, often underrepresented concept within the broader discipline of Women, Gender & Sexuality studies--including select bibliographies, videos, and key research terms.
- Women, Gender & SexualityA selection of specialized resources in women, gender and sexuality studies designed to help you navigate the information in Fondren's collections--and beyond.
- Houston Jewish History ArchiveThe Houston Jewish History Archive (HJHA) is a collaboration between the Program in Jewish Studies and the Woodson Research Center. Use this guide for help finding and accessing the documents, photographs, and memories that tell the story of Jewish life in Greater Houston and South Texas.
- Government Resources for Women's StudiesTake a look through this LibGuide to learn more about the contributions of women to history and contemporary society, in economics, politics, and culture. It was created in celebration of Women's History Month and International Women's Day, 2022.
- LGBTQ+ Archival CollectionsA guide to the LGBTQ+ collections of the Woodson Research Center. Highlights include the Oral Histories of HIV/AIDS in Houston, Harris County, and Southeast Texas and Rice PRIDE records.
- Government Resources on Hispanic HeritageCreated for Hispanic Heritage Month, this guide links to government resources on the contributions to and role in US History.
- Government Resources on JuneteenthLearn about the history of Juneteenth and see some of the pivotal documents and moments associated with the event and its 2021 recognition as a Federal Holiday.
External Research Guides
- Anti-OppressionSimmons University Beatley Library has created one of the best anti-oppression LibGuides. Learn about the suffix -misia and how it better describes biases than -phobia, and find information to support anti-oppression.
- DEI ResourcesIllinois Central College's guide lists resources for DEI that may not be found here.
- Business Resources for DEIUniversity of Rochester's LibGuide has valuable resources for those outside business, but focuses on how it intersects with DEI.
Journals, Articles & Webpages
- Equality, diversity and inclusion : an international journalCovers DEI topics in labor, employment, industry, and social contexts.
- American Indian QuarterlyA refereed interdisciplinary journal of the history, anthropology, literature and the arts of Native American Indians, book reviews and lists of recently published books.
- Harvard Latino law reviewA forum for the scholarly discussion of legal issues affecting Latinos and Latinas in the United States.
- The International journal of diversity in organisations, communities and nations.Explores the diversity in all its forms and manifestations within communities and cultures.
- Journal of diversity in higher educationBimonthly multidisciplinary journal publishing research focused on diversity, equity, and inclusion issues in higher education.
- New DiversitiesPublished by the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Religious and Ethnic Diversity, this interdisciplinary journal seeks to promote debate and conceptual development on diversity and social difference issues.
- International Journal of Transgender HealthScholarly forum for the discussion and promotion of transgender health worldwide.
- The review of disability studies.An open-access, anonymous, peer-reviewed journal focused on disability studies, with contributions from authors worldwide. It includes sections for research and essays, creative writing, topical forums, media reviews, and disability studies from a global perspective.
- The International journal of information, diversity, & inclusion.Wide-ranging and multidisciplinary perspectives on how equity, social justice, and information intersect, seeking to expand the discourse on how accessing, interacting with, and using information across different populations can impact society and communities.
- Diversity Rules MagazineOnline magazine dedicated to serving the LGBTQ community and its friends.
- Transgender Studies QuarterlyAn interdisciplinary magazine that explores diversity within gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity, especially where they have not been adequately studied by feminist and LGBTQ+ scholarship.
- Profiles in Diversity JournalJournal focused on the issues of diversity and inclusion in business, government, higher education, military, and not-for-profits; and strategies within those sectors for increasing workforce diversity, supporting employees, and involving leaders.
- OutSmart MagazineLGBTQ+ magazine local to Houston. The monthly publication was established in 1994. Free copies are distributed across the city.
- Disability Expertise: Claiming Disability Anthropology.A paper about looking at disability through a critical global anthropology as a relational category, and a "call for anthropologists to claim disability anthropology as a space for critical, interdisciplinary knowledge production".
- How to intervene when you witness a microaggressionMicroaggressions happen all around us, all the time; their cumulative effect is heavier than the term suggests. This article lists three ways to act as an ally when you witness microaggressions.
- We Can’t ‘Get Over It’: 4 Ways Understanding Past Wrongs Can Create Better Indigenous AlliesAn article from an Indigenous person about how historical wrongs still affect people and impact their lives today, and how it is important for others to see that.
- A Reflection on Juneteenth and the Diversity of Our Chemical Neuroscience CommunityAn article about the importance of not only celebrating Juneteenth within the chemical neuroscience community, but also the importance of continuing to listen to Black and African-American voices to improve the field.
- Listen carefully: transgender voices in the workplaceAn article exploring the lack of transgender voices in business websites and workplaces, and suggestions for future inclusion based on consent.
- LGBTQ+A? Asexuals' Attitudes Toward LGBTQ Individuals: A Test of Norm-Centered Stigma Theory.An article investigating the exclusion of asexual people from social movements and LGBTQ+ identity discussions.
- From “Learning disability to intellectual disability”—Perceptions of the increasing use of the term “intellectual disability” in learning disability policy, research and practice.A discussion of the changing preferences for the terms "learning disability" (UK) and "intellectual disability" (US), why there was a change, what it means, and its importance.
- We're Still Here: Karankawa Descendants are Reclaiming their HeritageEverything Texas school children learned about Karankawas was wrong, and they are not extinct: this is the story of a people reclaiming their heritage and finding each other, starting with one man's 2009 profile in a local newspaper.
- Deaf, Blind, and Deserving of a College DegreeApril 4, 2010 article in The Chronicle of Higher Education revealing that the process of reading for someone who is deaf and blind is slow even with the help of devices.
- Trans Women of Color CollectiveA website dedicated to uplifting and celebrating the lives and experiences of trans women of color.
- Human Rights CampaignGroup dedicated to fighting for LGBTQ rights.
- Being AntiracistA site all about being antiracist from the National Museum of African American History and Culture.
- Antiracism CenterBoston University's Center for Antiracist Research.
- The Trevor ProjectLarge LGBTQ support and crisis intervention organization for youth.
- Speak Up: Responding to Everyday BigotrySouthern Poverty Law Center's guide for how to respond to everyday and implicit bigotry.
- Hearling Loss Association of AmericaResources and support for those with hearing loss and their community.
- National Federation for the BlindNational organization for blind Americans, founded in 1940, to coordinate services, programs, and resources.
- Project Implicit: Take a TestTake an Implicit Association Test (IAT) produced by the Project Implicit team comprised of researchers from University of Washington, University of Virginia, Harvard University, and Yale University. Select an IAT from a list of possible topics and optionally report your attitudes or beliefs about these topics and provide some information about yourself. The IAT measures and helps you understand an attitude or stereotype that it measures. Data is used to help support further research into these topics.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University