Religion: Articles & Databases
Databases in Religious Studies and Related Subjects -- Part I
-
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive graduate and faculty research in religion and theology, including index citations, journal articles, multi-author works, book reviews, curated by ATLA (American Theological Library Association)
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowMore than one million bibliographic entries on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
-
CNKI Databases (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from serials recently published in China.
Note: Full text access is available only for the following subject areas: Literature, History, Philosophy and Politics, Military Affairs, and Law in China Academic Journals Full-text (CAJ); the China Doctoral Dissertations Full-text database, and the China Masters' Theses Full-text database (CDMD). -
Buddhist Digital Resource Center (BDRC) Core Texts Collection This link opens in a new windowSearchable scriptures and key texts from the Buddhist Digital Resource Center. Fondren Library owns access to Modules 1-17 of the Core Texts Collections.
-
DigiZeitschriften This link opens in a new windowGerman academic journals in multiple disciplines, available in both English and German interfaces. The past 2-5 years (depending on title) are not available.
-
Trace Foundation's Latse LibraryThe premier research library dedicated to modern Tibetan studies.
-
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowCitations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
Databases in Religious Studies and Related Subjects -- Part II
-
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowInternational bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam and the Muslim world.
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related fields. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references. (Note: pop-up blocking must be disabled.)
-
Nag Hammadi Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowBooks, articles and reviews on texts from the Nag Hammadi Library, a collection of early Christian and Gnostic works.
-
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new windowPublishing information on articles, book chapters, and other scholarly writings from on the medieval period, covering Europe and the Middle East and produced from 1981 onward. Topics include music, art, religion, history, classics, languages, rhetoric, and education. Provides links to either the full text where available at Fondren, or to request items through interlibrary loan.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOnline, full text access to scholarly journals from first publication date to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present--i.e., the most recent 2-5 years' worth of issues will not be available at any given time. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, full-text, discipline, year, and article type.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowDatabase of full-text journals in multiple humanities and social science disciplines.
-
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceIter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources.
-
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of information about scholarly works in classical languages and literature.
-
Rambi -- The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. RAMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library. The articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers.
Related Databases
-
Coptic Gnostic Library Online - A Complete Edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices This link opens in a new windowTexts from the Nag Hammadi codices, Coptic writings from the Gnostics in the first century CE, in both Coptic and English.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOnline, full text access to scholarly journals from first publication date to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present--i.e., the most recent 2-5 years' worth of issues will not be available at any given time. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, full-text, discipline, year, and article type.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPublication information and summaries for academic and professional literature in psychology and related disciplines, for sources from the 1600s to the present.
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature and indexed titles in anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University