Religion: Christianity
Starting Points
- Biblical Studies - Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowBibliographies highlighting articles, commentary, research, and other writings in the area of biblical studies, with links to full-text resources where available at Fondren.
Books on Christianity in the stacks, located on the 4th floor of the Fondren Library building:
|
|
Patrological Literature
- Clavis Clavium This link opens in a new windowSearchable patristic, medieval, and Byzantine texts and related reference works.
- Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new windowComplete text of Acta Sanctorum, a collection of biographies of Christian saints published over 300 years by Société des Bollandistes. Includes indices and links to related texts. More on this database can be found here.
- Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window"The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865 (ProQuest)."
- Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new windowMigne's Patrologiae Graecae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Edited by J.-P. Migne, it was published in print in the nineteenth century and is now made available electronically for the first time.
- Nag Hammadi Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window"Brill’s Nag Hammadi Bibliography Online (NHBO) is a cross-searchable database of books, articles and reviews, which contribute to the study of Gnosticism and early Christianity. The main objective of the NHBO is facilitating the work and international collaboration of all scholars working in this field (Brill)."
- Coptic Gnostic Library Online - A Complete Edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices This link opens in a new windowTexts from the Nag Hammadi codices, Coptic writings from the Gnostics in the first century CE, in both Coptic and English.
Reference
- Encyclopedia of Early Christianity Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable encyclopedia covering the history of early Christian texts, authors, and ideas from early Christianity up to 600 CE.
Sacred Texts
- Bible in English (990-1970) This link opens in a new window20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament, as well as the King James Bible version.
- King James Bible This link opens in a new windowThe King James or Authorized Version of the Bible was printed in 1611 and became the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries. Arguably the most influential single document for English literary studies, this fully searchable online version presents the full text (of the ‘He’ version) with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables.
- The Dead Sea ScrollsThe Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is very proud to present the Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University