"This interdisciplinary field ... includes history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, as well as literatures in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu, and remains responsive to new discoveries, interpretations, ideologies and theories...The articles present a guided tour through the key literature on each topic, providing context for its development, and a balanced overview of the major issues within a given topic (Oxford University Press)."
This resource sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture (Brill). Access includes: 1) Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936); 2) Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, plus Glossary and Index of Terms; 3) Encyclopaedia of Islam, Three; and 4) Historical Atlas of Islam.
"The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It is published in five substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world (Brill).
Entries look at Islam in individual nations. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, providing a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. There are entries on topics of current interest such as terrorism and the Taliban, Osama bin Laden and al-Qaida, the PLO and HAMAS, but the coverage also includes biographical profiles, and entries covering major political movements, militant groups, religious sects terms from Islamic law, culture and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks.
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women provides clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of Islam and women... [with] more than 450 articles written by leading international experts and with a concentration on contemporary issues... [organized] around... Self and Body, Immigration and Minorities, Culture and Expression, Politics and Polity, and Community and Society, as well as Science, Medicine and Education among others..."
Islam in the Modern World, 1804-1913 contains 150 titles, 172 volumes and more than 52,000 pages. The content includes biographies of the prophet Muhammad; works comparing Christianity and Islam’s key theological and philosophical texts, including the Quran; relevant mystical and spiritual works; and texts surveying the history of Islam.
Museum with No Frontiers: 14 Mediterranean & European Union countries have collaborated to produce a virtual museum that explores Islamic art and material culture in the Mediterranean region. The image database may be searched by country, period/dynasty, etc. Each object or monument has a description, select bibliography, and provenance.