Education: Blogging EDU@Fondren

What's happening at Fondren this Fall

Welcome back Education Faculty!

Although many of you may be starting the semester virtually, I hope to hear from you, and eventually see you again in person for your 2022 Teacher Conference next summer.

As you begin your semester, reach out to me with whatever your needs might be…whether you’d like me to come teach research methods for your course, or are stumped finding a particular article, just know no request is too big or small!

New to Rice?

Have you recently joined the Rice family? If so, reach out to me for a new Faculty packet.

It’s all about Accessibility

Last summer Fondren adopted Leganto, a software platform that seamlessly loads all your student’s course resources onto your Canvas page. This summer Fondren has taken the leap to controlled digital lending. CDL is a means to make digitally available an entire book for students, while maintaining an ‘owned to loaned ratio’ that abides by copyright law. Why the move from physical to virtual resources?

1. Digital lending makes materials available 24/7
2. Digital formats make materials accessible and inclusive (text is searchable and font size can be individually adjusted.)
3. Digital formats help preserve fragile materials
4. Digital lending is a green initiative

Want to learn more?

Read White Paper on Controlled Digital Lending from Ex Libris.

Watch Frequently Asked Questions about Controlled Digital Lending from Internet Archive.

Check out this testimonial from Rice's Josh Furman or email reserves@rice.edu to get started!

"It has been a pleasure working with Fondren Library staff to set up digital course reserves materials for my class!  Leganto is extremely easy to learn and very user-friendly, and the Access Services team has quickly responded to each of my requests, from scanning book chapters to acquiring e-books.  Now more than ever, it is critical to give our students reliable access to the learning resources they need, and Access Services have gone above and beyond to help me prepare for the coming semester."

Dr. Joshua Furman
Associate Director, Program in Jewish Studies
Instructor, JWST 301 - Jewish Food 

NEW RESOURCES!

You asked! We listened!

Coming in January…EBSCO Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.

New Electronic Trials!

Newspaper Archives
This archive contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present.

This trial expires on Sept. 30, 2021.

Oxford World’s Classics
This collection provides access to some of the world's greatest literature, including 18th and 19th century novels and other writings, with comprehensive introductions, clear explanatory notes, chronologies and bibliographies available in every book (Oxford Univ. Press).

This trial ends on Sept. 3, 2021.

Art Song Transpositions

This online service provides:

1) A digital sheet music database of thousands of art songs and arias, available in any key; and

2) An on-demand publishing service, delivering new transpositions based upon user requests.

This trial expires on Dec. 14, 2021.

STUDENT RESOURCES

Check out our one stop shop for Research Paper Help!

Library help is just a click away!
You will notice a little blue tab on the right side of your browser screen when you go the library's homepage. Chat with a librarian for instant help Monday-Thursday 9am-5pm, Friday 9am-4pm and by appointment.

Need help writing that paper, presenting that research, or polishing your communication skills?

The Center for Academic and Professional Communication can help! Check out their Resource Page or schedule a consultation.

Digital Scholarship Service
Find tips and tools for presenting, publishing, digitizing, and archiving scholarly materials. Fondren offers services including sharing work through digital platforms, managing and visualizing data, navigating copyright and open access, preserving scholarship and data, providing help planning and implementing projects, digitizing materials and research data management.

Best wishes for a successful Fall semester!