Education: Blogging EDU@Fondren

Spring in Houston? Or Fall, part two?

Welcome back to all of our new and returning Education Faculty!

Will we see a return to in-person conferences in 2022? Only my crystal ball knows! J

Would you like me to teach a research methods one-shot for a course you’re teaching this semester?

Would you like me to track down some research for a project you’re working on?

Please know I am here to support your research efforts…and no request is too great or too small!

Are you NEW to Rice?

Have you recently joined the Rice family? If so, reach out to me for a new Faculty packet.

Controlled Digital Lending…do I have your attention?

Last year I posted about how Fondren has been changing course in terms of providing physical course reserves. In Fall 2020 Fondren went from collaborating with a handful of faculty to provide their students with supplementary/primary course resource materials to nearly 50 courses for Fall 2021!

Want to know how your students can benefit?

Eager to find out about how you can create automatically gradable assignments and engage with students using items you’ve placed on digital course reserves?

Check out our Course Reserves LibGuide for Faculty or contact circ@rice.edu for more information.

DID YOU KNOW?

EBSCO Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete was requested by Rice's Education Department and is now live! This is a "robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education."

Unlimited File Syncing Storage now available for Rice Zotero!

Fondren Library’s subscription to Zotero now allows unlimited file syncing storage for all Rice users. What’s Zotero? Zotero is a free citation management tool used by many researchers. Need to learn Zotero? The Digital Media Commons of Fondren Library provides free Zotero training workshops and support on Zotero. Go to the Zotero short course page for scheduled remote Zotero workshops.

ProQuest One Business

This database supports the unique teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students. It intuitively guides users to the content they need for common assignments like SWOT analyses, case studies and industry reports presentations (ProQuest).

This trial ends on March 11, 2022. Please send feedback to susan.garrison@rice.edu.

Linguistics Database

This database includes full-text journals and other sources covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics (ProQuest).

This trial ends on Feb. 10, 2022. Please send feedback to svieira@rice.edu.

STUDENT RESOURCES

Check out our one stop shop for Research Paper Help!

Library help is just a click away!
You will notice a little blue tab on the right side of your browser screen when you go the library’s homepage. Chat with a librarian for instant help Monday-Thursday 9am-5pm, Friday 9am-4pm and by appointment.

Need help writing that paper, presenting that research, or polishing your communication skills?

The Center for Academic and Professional Communication can help! Check out their Resource Page or schedule a consultation.

Digital Scholarship Service
Find tips and tools for presenting, publishing, digitizing, and archiving scholarly materials. Fondren offers services including sharing work through digital platforms, managing and visualizing data, navigating copyright and open access, preserving scholarship and data, providing help planning and implementing projects, digitizing materials and research data management.

Best wishes for a successful Spring semester!