LibGuides: Baker Institute Research: Asia

Finding Newspaper Articles - International

Single titles

Many individual papers are available online via their own websites (in addition to being includes in the collections described below) - use a web search engine (e.g. Google or Yahoo) to locate an individual newspaper. Most papers will permit you to view today's issue, and to search their online backfile. Some papers provide open access to their backfile; others do not. Most papers will not license their online sites to libraries. Please also check the detailed links on our Asian Studies guide.

In addition, Fondren subscribes to the following collections and retrospectives:

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
"A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Titles include: Christian Science Monitor, New York Times (& NYT Book Review), USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post., Associated Press, CNN Wire, PR Wire, United Press International and Xinhua (China). The News View feature also includes television and radio news transcripts from ABC News, ABC (Australian), CBC (Canadian), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio and PBS.
International Newsstand This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest International Newsstand provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers. For nearly all of them, complete articles are available in the ASCII format. The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, Le Monde, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are just a few of the sources in ProQuest International Newsstand."
"Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on sports, business, and the arts around the world. Citations and abstracts are available for all articles saving researchers time."

Articles, etc

CIA's World Factbook This link opens in a new window
From the Central Intelligence Agency, this site provides country information organized by country, region, or topic. Topics include communications, defense, economy, flag and map, geography, government, people and transportation.
Country Watch: Website of the World (CountryWatch) This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed textual, data and graphic information for countries and regions. Topics include: country overviews, political history and conditions, economic status, investment overviews, social background, and environmental situation and issues.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790— and is a good source for foreign newspapers.
*Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic.
Nexis Uni offers an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Data from surveys of public opinion (1930s+). Most data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. Contains surveys from the United States, as well as from Europe, Latin America and Asia. The Archives also contain election poll data, as well as Japanese, Latin American, and Canadian data archives.