Global Health: Data and Statistics
Malaria Cases
Data and Statistics
CancerMondial
Provides access to a number of databases with cancer statistics worldwide.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information about the government, economies, people, and other facts of over 260 nations in the world. Relevant information includes statistics about major infectious diseases, HIV prevalence rates, physician density, hospital bed density, and more.
Global Health Data Exchange
Catalog of health data from the Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation.
UNICEF: Statistics and Monitoring
Including such information as country statistics, customized statistical tables, core indicators, millenium development goals monitoring, multiple indicator cluster surveys, the DevInfo database system, and more from the United Nations Children's Fund. More statistics can be found at http://www.childinfo.org/.
UN Data
A data access system for UN databases with information such as country links, Health Data HIV/AIDS statistics, and more.
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank Institute is a "global connector of knowledge, learning and innovation for poverty reduction". The Open Data website allows for searching by topic or country.
World Health Organization: Global Health Observatory
Data and analysis divided by themes such as mortality, noncommunicable diseases, health systems, and more. There is also access to the organization's full data repository, yearly world health statistic reports, comprehensive reports on global health risks, country statistics, a map gallery, and statistical reports from WHO programs.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowICPSR provides access to a vast archive of social science data. ICPSR is a membership organization; as an "ICPSR Direct" member (courtesy of Rice's membership), you can register for a personal password and download information directly from ICPSR.
- LexisNexis Statistical This link opens in a new windowPresented by the Hobby Foundation Endowment Fund
Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.
Public Opinion
Newspapers and broadcast media are always excellent sources of public opinion data. In addition, check:
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPolling the Nations compiles 300,000 questions & responses from more than 12,000 surveys conducted in the U.S. and 70 other countries.
- Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) This link opens in a new windowLAPOP is a resource containing public opinion surveys investigating attitudes and behaviors related to democratic progress. Over 20 countries in the Americas are covered. Note: "Enter site via IP authentication."
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new windowData from surveys of public opinion (1930s+). Most data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. Contains surveys from the United States, as well as from Europe, Latin America and Asia. The Archives also contain election poll data, as well as Japanese, Latin American, and Canadian data archives.