Energy Resources: Industry

Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Types of reports: Industry Financial Profiles, U.S. & Local Market Research Reports, Area Demographic Profiles, Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss and Local Market Vitality Profile.

Service's real strength is small and niche industry information. Provides not only industry reports but also industry risk reports. Service is divided into three databases (1) Industry Market Research (2) Industry Risk Rating and (3) Business Environment. The last two databases can be very helpful when doing industry research.

Gives a company overview including history, major products, revenue analyses, locations, SWOT reports and top competitors Most Industry reports are done by country (i.e.: Toys United States) but some are regional and global reports on an industry. Provides journal/news coverage of both industries and companies.

Covers a select group of industries by geographic regions. Reports are updated at least once a year and the current and previous year’s reports are available.

Plunkett covers major industry groups. This includes industries in which most of the companies are private such as Consulting and Advertising. Industry data can be found in the Market Research and Trends and the Statistics sections.

Standard & Poor’s electronic database that contains a number of S&P resources, including the popular S&P Industry Surveys. These well documented surveys cover 52 major industries and over 300 sub-industries.

Gives both industry and company reports from analysts in large investment banks and financial institutions. Look for analyst reports on specific industries. Use Internet Explorer when accessing ThomsonOne.