LibGuides: Congress: Congressional Links

Congressional Links

Committee Hearings (U.S. House of Representatives)
Free resource from the Office of the Clerk of the House of Representatives to search House Committee Hearings by committee name or title for the 110th through the current Congress. Advanced search also allows for searching by witness, description, chairman, and subcommittee.
Conference Reports
A compromise on legislation negotiated between the House and Senate via conference committees. Conference Reports are printed and submitted to each chamber for approval or disapproval.
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information provided by the Library of Congress. Replaces THOMAS. Find bills, laws, treaties, nominations, information about members of Congress, U.S. founding documents and videos explaining the legislative process. For help in using the site effectively access "An introduction to the Congress.gov legislative information website." YouTube video. Keep up with new features by accessing the Congress.gov blog
Congressional Collections at Archival Repositories
List of Internet sources which provide information about congressional holdings by name of institution or organization.
Congressional Hearings
Searchable database of current Congressional hearings. Check site for archival holdings.
Congressional Record (Bound)
Serves as the official daily record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress when in session. Check site for archival holdings. At the end of each Congressional session, the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into a permanent bound edition. The Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. has published a helpful overview of the Congressional Record and its predecessors.
Congressional Record (Daily)
Serves as the official daily record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress when in session. Check site for holdings. At the end of each Congressional session, the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into a permanent bound edition. The Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. has published a helpful overview of the Congressional Record and its predecessors.
Congressional Record Index (Daily)
Recent years include links to Congressional Record text. Check site for holdings. The Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. has published a helpful overview of the Congressional Record and its predecessors.
Congressional Record Index History of Bills
Lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record, In electronic format it is a separate collection, but in printed format it exists as part of the Congressional Record Index.

Congressional by ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Congressional, this resource provides full-text access to historical (1789- ) and current U.S. Congressional publications, and information about members of Congress and Congressional committees. Track federal bills and laws.

Serial Set

The United States Serial Set is a series of reports and documents published by Congress in a serial fashion. It includes a wide variety of material including house and senate documents, maps, tributes, and private relief actions to name a few.

Overview of the U.S. Serial Set
Provided by Richard J. McKinney of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. Explains the contents, arrangement, numbering, indexing, etc. of the Serial Set.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Numerical Lists and Schedule
Government Printing Office (GPO) site containing the Numerical Lists of Documents and the Schedule of Serial Set Volumes.
United States Congressional Serial Set (Library of Congress)
Numbered Senate and House Documents and Reports bound by session of Congress starting with records for the 23rd (1833-35) Congress.

Congressional by ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Congressional, this resource provides full-text access to historical (1789- ) and current U.S. Congressional publications including committee hearings, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, the American State Papers, the Serial Set (House and Senate documents and reports, Senate executive reports and treaty documents), Serial Set maps, Congressional news, and information about members of the United States Congress and Congressional committees.

American State Papers
In 1817 Congress began distributing the United States Congressional Serial Set. This set of volumes contained reports and documents created by or presented to Congress that it felt needed wider circulation. The U.S. Serial Set was not retroactive and therefore did not contain the records for the first 14 Congresses. Recognizing the importance of preserving and making available to the public the records from the formative years of the country, Congress acted on a proposal by the printers Gales & Seaton and made provision in the following act of March 2, 1831, for that firm to publish executive and legislative writings from the first 13 Congresses: