It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Archives center that preserves and makes available the historical records of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate. Also offers online finding aids useful in conducting congressional research.
Provides an alphabetical or SuDoc Call Number search of the congressional and departmental publications contained in the Checklist. Bound versions of the Checklist are available in Fondren, Gov Ref Z1223 .A113. The Internet Archive also has an electronic version.
Biographical,Bibliographical, & Pictorial Congressional Information
Offers short biographies for members of the House and Senate. Lists committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers. Also contains information about other Federal departments and agencies, court officials, military establishments, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press.
Now available as downloadable PDF chapters, this publication from the American Enterprise Institute and Brookings in collaboration with the Campaign Finance Institute provides impartial data on Congress and its members. Find data about Congressional demographics, elections, campaign finance, composition of Congressional committees, Congressional staff, legislative productivity, federal budget activity, and political polarization. See also incomplete holdings of older paper editions.
Enumerates and describes meetings held by Congressional committees since the 1980s (check for current years of coverage). Authoritative and exhaustive source of meetings held and documents released by House and Senate committees.
This book provides a single source of biographical information for the thousands of individuals who have held high elective and appointive offices in the federal, state, and municipal governments. The first half of the book lists positions in the government with a chronological record of the persons who have held the positions and the duration of their terms of office. Executive branch listings include the presidents, first ladies, vice presidents, cabinet members, deputy and undersecretaries of cabinet departments, directors and administrators of high government agencies, high-ranking military officials, ambassadors, and high-ranking presidential staff and White House aides. In the judiciary, the chief justice of the United States and members of the Supreme Court, the U.S. Court of Appeals, and U.S. District Courts are listed. Legislative listings include presidents of the Continental Congresses, speakers of the House of Representatives, presidents pro tempore of the Senate, majority and minority leaders in both houses of Congress, members of Congress, territorial delegates, resident commissioners, governors and lieutenant governors. Next are sections on state and territorial governments (listing governors and lieutenant governors) and city governments (listing mayors of over 150 cities). The second half of the book is a biographical index of individuals found in the earlier sections, listed in alphabetical order. The entries contain dates of birth and death, when known, political party or affiliation, state or states of significance to the officeholder, and listing of offices held.