LibGuides: Entrepreneurship: Data/Statistics

Business Statistics

Annual Survey of Manufacturers
County Business Patterns
Provides data on the total number of establishments, Mid-March employment, first quarter and annual payroll, and number of establishments by nine employment-size classes by detailed industry for all counties in the United States and the District of Columbia.
Economic Census
Profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Check the publications list for pdfs of broad topics such as Core Business Statistics; Accommodations and Food Services; Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation Industries to name a few.

Statistical Insight
Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.
Formerly known as LexisNexis Statistical.
Statista
Up-to-date statistical data from over 18,000 sources.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Current & Archive Editions)
Social, economic, and political statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau; available editions start in 1898 and continue to the present. See the ProQuest Statistical Abstracts LibGuide for tips on using the database.

ZIP Code Business Patterns (NAICS)
Contains business data for 40,000 zip codes. Also available in CD-ROM, please check Fondren Library's online catalog.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Access to extensive data in the areas of labor, economics and statistics. Includes links to state and regional resources.

American Community Survey
Yearly survey conducted by the Census Bureau to provide an up-to-date source of sample data for U.S. population and housing characteristics. It replaces the decennial Census long form with annual updates and multi-year estimates, but the short form of the decennial Census is still distributed to obtain a count of the entire U.S population.

Current Population Survey
Information from a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Euromonitor Passport Reference and GMID
Demographic, economic and marketing indicators covering more than 200 countries.
Mintel
Reports on international consumer markets, consumer market reports, daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity, as well as commentary from Mintel's experts on market trends, opportunities and risks, product and brand innovation.

Note: First-time users need to create a personal profile using their Rice email address; all users need to log out at the end of their session.
Statistical Insight
Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.
Formerly known as LexisNexis Statistical.
Statista
Up-to-date statistical data from over 18,000 sources.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Current & Archive Editions)
Social, economic, and political statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau; available editions start in 1898 and continue to the present. See the ProQuest Statistical Abstracts LibGuide for tips on using the database.