Genealogy: Other Resources (Maps/GIS, Photos, Fee-Based)
Genealogy sites from government agencies or organizations that use government information
GIS and Maps
- National Historical Geographic Information SystemProvides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014.
- Texas Historic Sites AtlasTexas Historical Commission site with statewide, county, and specialized information such as historical markers.
- Using GIS to Map Genealogical Data: Getting Started/ Anita K. OserFrom a presentation at the 71th(st) IFLA General Conference, 2005, Oslo, Norway.
- Using Maps in GenealogyFact Sheet 099-02 (September 2002)
Jewish American Genealogical
Historic Photos
- National Archives Digital Photograph CollectionsFind digital photograph collections from the 19th-21st centuries, history of photography links, and information about the preservation and care of photographs.
- Digital Public Library of America PhotographsView by date, language, location, and subject.
African American Genealogical Research
Prominent Fee-Based Sites
- Ancestry.comThe world's largest family history resource. (Ancestry.com can be searched for free but requires the purchase of an individual subscription to view the records, while Ancestry Library Edition is available for free at many libraries inculding NARA regional facilities.
- U.S. Military CollectionPart of Ancestry.com – Find and view military records from the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, WWI, WWII, and other conflicts including the Korean and Vietnam Wars. To learn how to search the National Archives for freely available military records see An Overview of Records at the National Archives Relating to Military Service.
- Fold 3Now owned by Ancestry.com, this started as a cooperative agreement with NARA to digitize military records and other select holdings of the National Archives. Access at regional NARA facilities or purchase an individual subscription.
- HeritageQuest This link opens in a new windowHeritage Quest assembles genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials, as found in the corresponding microform collection. It encompasses materials from all 50 states including over 7 million pages.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University