LibGuides: Environment (Government Information): Environmental Protection/Sustainability

Environmental Protection/ Sustainability

Environmental Protection Agency
Contains a wealth of environmental topics, reports, laws, and more.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Provides information about sustainable practices, the environment, safety, health, and quality management.
Smart Growth Online
Formed by the EPA and non-profit and government organizations to foster optimal development of the economy, community, and environment. Publishes reports such as This is Smart Growth to demonstrate how to use smart growth techniques to improve the quality of development while protecting environmental resources.

Commercial Databases (use at Rice or with a Rice login):

Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database covers current ecology research, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction.
"Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment (ProQuest)."
Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This "collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a diverse range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications (ProQuest)."

Rice University Administrative Center for Sustainability and Energy Management (ACSEM)
"Collaborative organization dedicated to providing direction to Rice for short-term management and long-term planning of energy and other natural resources." Their website includes descriptions of student sustainability projects.