Kelley Center: Maps

Topographic maps

We have an extensive collection of United States Geological Survey 7.5 Minute Topographic Series (1:24,000 scale).  We also have topographic maps at 1:50,000, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000 scale for many parts of the United States.  Our topographic maps cover various years.  The USGS officially completed the 7.5-minute map series in 1992, and has replaced the print program with The National Map. Topographic maps from the 7.5-minute program, as well as various derived products, are available to view and download at the USGS store. The collection also includes some topographic maps from regions around the world. 

Soil Surveys

We hold the copies of the Texas county soil surveys published by the Department of Agriculture.  Most are also available online, https://www.nrcs.usda.gov/conservation-basics/natural-resource-concerns/soil/soil-survey

Flood Insurance Rate Maps from FEMA

These include Texas communities that are in the Flood Insurance Program.  Some are available online through the FEMA Flood Map Service Portal.

Base/Outline Maps

Outline maps of the world and US can be found at About.com.

Geological Maps

The collection contains geologic maps of the United States and Texas.  A wide range of geologic maps can also be found at the USGS National Geologic Map Database.  

The library contains the complete set of the Geologic Atlas of Texas in paper.  The digital version was created by the Texas Water Development Board, Groundwater Resources Division.  

Historical Maps

We have few original and reproductions of historic maps. You may view historic maps online at the Library of Congress’ General Maps Collection and at the David Rumsey Collection.  Maps from the US Serial Set (from 1789-present) can be found through our subscription to ProQuest Congressional database.

Nautical/Aeronautical/Celestial Charts

We collect the following government produced series: TPC (Tactical Pilotage Charts); ONC (Operational Navigational Charts); GNC (Global Navigational Charts) and Sectional Aeronautical Charts.  We also have a number of world nautical charts and celestial charts.  Digital version of NOAA's Nautical charts can be found on their On-Line Chart Viewer. 

Place Names & Gazetteers

We hold gazetteers of place names approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.  Also, see the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) on the web for place names within the US and its territories.  Information about foreign geographic feature names can be obtained from the GEOnet Names Server (GNS).

USGS Resources 

The U.S. Geologic Survey provides an extensive listing of resources including:

Geospatial Data and Mapping Websites list: Listing includes links to:

1. Free spatial data from USGS & partners
2. Purchase USGS products
3. Other sites of interest

Houston

• Houston GIS OpenData

  GIS data and datasets provided by the City of Houston

• City of Houston Geographic Information and Management System

  Over 300 data layers. Portions of GIMS data is available only to City of Houston agencies, however some are accessible to the public. ROW and bikeways data are available only to view, but not for download.

• City of Houston GIS Portal (COHGIS)

  Clearinghouse for municipal GIS datasets for the City of Houston. Contains a link to Houston GIS OpenData and more. Datasets include: administrative boundaries, locations, routes, pavement, right-of-way, subdivision, and Lambert Facet Page--grids commonly used by Harris County Appraisal District and City of Houston Department of Public Works and Engineering.

• Harris County Appraisal District GIS Data

  Appraisal, city, college, county, emergency, fire, highway, school polygons, and other data.

• Harris County GIS Data

  Harris County data and more.

• Harris County Public Infrastructure Department Engineering Division’s GIS Library

  Available by contacting the Harris County Public Infrastructure Department Architecture and Engineering Division GIS Group.

• Houston-Galveston Area Council Data Clearinghouse (HGAC)

  Vector data covers only the H-GAC region; however, several are regional and statewide.

As a Federal Depository Library (FDLP), Fondren Library provides free access to government information to the Rice University community and residents of the 7th Congressional District of Texas. The FDLP service at Fondren Library is administered by the Kelley Center for Government Information & Civic Engagement. In addition to the web links provided in this guide, the Kelley Center staff are happy to assist with government information needs.

You may contact us by phone (713-348-5483), email govhelp@rice.edu, or in person in the basement of Fondren Library, Rice University.

Please note our hours of operation before visiting.

Find FDLP libraries in other locations by using the Federal Depository Directory.

The Kelley Center also maintains Fondren Library's microforms.  See the Microforms: Major Sets by Subject LibGuide for more information.