Kelley Center: Maps
This guide to navigate through Fondren Library map resources and services, in physical and digital formats.al maps for teaching, learning, and research..
Find Historic Maps
Free sites:
- TopoView Historical Topographic Map Collection from the USGS. Includes large and small scale maps between 1884 and 2006 in GeoPDFs and GeoTIFF, JPEG and KMZ.
- Library of Congress General Maps Collection Digital archive of material held at the Library of Congress.
- David Rumsey Map Collection Collection of more then 150,000 historic maps, global coverage.
- Old Maps Online Repository of historic maps from collections around the world.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Online map collection covering the world, countries, states, cities, etc. from the University of Texas at Austin. Includes historic and modern maps. Includes color version of Sanborn Fire Insurance maps and its key to the colors and abbreviations.
- Portal to Texas History Includes over 80,000 maps, with 10% being 19th century or earlier.
- University of Houston Digital Library Includes 30 maps of Houston and Texas
- Links to more Historic Map Web Sites, organized by Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Subscription (Open only to Rice Affiliates):
- American West This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, maps, ephemera, and other printed materials chronicling the development and settlement of the American West.
- China, America and the Pacific: Trade & Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, images, maps, objects, and other archival material related to the trade and cultural exchange between China, North America, and the Pacific in the eighteenth through twentieth centuries.Fondren owns access to Modules I and II.
- Digital Sanborn Maps (Texas) This link opens in a new windowTexas fire insurance maps from 1867–1970 that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures and to look at historical neighborhood structure.Sanborn includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
- Congressional by ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSerial Set Maps, 1789-present Part of the subscription to ProQuest Congressional database
- Last Updated: Jan 9, 2025 11:24 AM
- URL: https://libguides.rice.edu/maps
- Print Page
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Astronomy, Earth Science, Education, Engineering, Environmental Studies, European Studies, Faculty Resources, First Years / First Year Experience, Geography, Government, History, Humanities, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, Political Science, Religion, Research Process, Rice Staff, Sociology, Student Success, Study Abroad, U.S. History, World History
Tags: government information, maps
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University