Kelley Center: Maps

Using the Fondren Library online catalog OneSearch to explore the records of this collection. You can start with

Step 1. Go to the Fondren Library homepage: https://library.rice.edu/

Step 2. Type in "Mobil Oil Map Collection" in the search box, see below for the example:

Note: 

1. Please be aware of that this is a current on going project. Come back frequently to check the new additions.
2. Once you have found the maps you are interested in, consult the page on "How to Find and Access", visit Kelley Center Information Desk, or schedule an appointment with Kelley Center staff if you need further assistance. 

What does this collection document?
This collection documents the geographic interests of a major oil company during the second half of the 20th century.

Who might be interested in these maps?
The maps will be of great interest to several disciplines, including:

• Earth sciences
• Engineering
• Climate change and renewable energy research
• Humanities, such as history, political science, and economics

Why are these maps significant?
As research increasingly focuses on the expansion and influence of the petroleum industry during the latter half of the 20th century, these maps provide crucial evidence of the oil industry’s efforts to locate and exploit petroleum and other mineral resources globally. These activities likely influenced national political, economic, and foreign policy decisions during this time, extending beyond just the United States.

As the history of the expansion and influence of the petroleum industry during the second half of the 20th century becomes the focus of more intensive academic research, these maps will provide evidence of the oil industry’s desire to locate and exploit petroleum and other mineral resources in a wider geographical space than just the United States. Such efforts to seek an international base of resources most likely had an influence on national political, economic, and foreign relations decisions during this time.

Where did the maps come from?
This map collection was a significant donation from ExxonMobil.

What is the status of the collection?
We are currently processing the maps and estimate that over 1,000 maps will be added to Fondren's map collection once the project is complete.

What criteria are used to select maps for the collection?
Some of the selection criteria include:

• No digital version of the map is available.
• WorldCat shows that fewer than 25 libraries worldwide have the map.
• No more than two libraries in Texas own the map, and neither of those libraries is located in Houston.

Project Phases

• Project Phase I: Summer 2022-Fall 2023 Early internal investigation carried out by Kelley Center for Government Information
• Project Phase 2: December 2023: Denis galvin invited the External map consultant Ronald Grim to visit Fondren Library to conduct deeper investigation, evaluation, and make recommendation for Fondren Library on next steps. Anna Xiong and Scott Viera facilitated Ronald Grim's first visit.
  • External map consultant: Ronald Grim: "Ronald E. Grim is a consultant on map curatorship and historic maps. At the time of filming, he was Curator of Maps for the Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library. He had assumed this position after working thirty-three years for the federal government with the nation’s two largest map collections at the National Archives and the Library of Congress." Read more on Ronald Grim at Choice Program)
• Project Phase 3: January 2023-March 2024 Pilot project - Anna Xiong, Dave Earlandson, Scott Viera with Ronald Grim
• Project Phase 4: April 2024 Anna Xiong and Dave Earlandson facilitated Ronald Grim's second visit. Under the guidance of the external map consultant, the team worked out the details of processing, tested and finalized the work criteria and procedure.
• Project Phase 5: April 2024-Present: Weed, catalog, shelve, preserve, document
• Project Phase 6: Outreach, promote, collaboration, support instruction and research

Which departments/units were involved in the project?

• Kelley Center for Government Information, Data, and Geospatial Services
• Cataloging and Metadata Services
• Preservation Services
• Collection Development (Summer 2023-March 2024: Early investigation phase until before the second visit of the external map consultant)

Contact:

This web page is created and maintained by Anna Xiong, Government Information Coordinator managing Kelley Center for Government Information, also the Co-Project Leader of this map team project. If you have questions about this web page, this new map collection, or this map team project, you can contact her via jax2@rice.edu or 713.348.6212.