Physics: Journal Articles/Table of Contents/Databases
A guide to resources for use primarily for Rice University.
Undergraduate Physics Education resources
- Attrition and Persistence in Undergraduate Physics ProgramsAIP Research has recently published a report on Attrition and Persistence in Undergraduate Physics Programs. This five-year, longitudinal study examines why students leave or persist in undergraduate physics majors. We are grateful to the students and the universities who partnered with us to complete this study.
Subject Searches/Finding Journal Articles
- ADS Astrophysical Data System, new interface.
- Historial ADS and arXiv launch points.
- APS Topical cross-journal feeds include articles on selected current interests
- IOPScience subject collections group journal content by research areas
- Inspec
Provides citations, abstracts, and links to full-text of the worldwide literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
Note: This is on the Engineering Village platform; make sure to check *Inspec* next to Database selection on the upper left of the database screen. -
Scopus Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
-
Web of ScienceThe Web of Science is a database on the Web of Knowledge platform that integrates three citation indexes: Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). SCI and SSCI have searchable author abstracts and each database may be searched by a variety of other accesses including who the author cites. WOS permits searching one or more of the three databases. SCI on WOS coverage is from 1900 to date. SSCI indexes material from 1956 to date. AHCI indexes materials from 1975 to date. Includes ISIHighlyCited: a directory of over 250 eminent researchers in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and social science
Physics Librarian
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University