Voting and Election: Election Data/Statistics/Maps
This LibGuide is created and maintained by Kelley Center for Government Information. We have selected links to guide you start to search and access current and historical resources about elections and voting for research, teaching, and civic engagement
Access to and Use of Voter Registration Lists
- National Conference of State Legislatures.: Access and Use of Voter Registration ListsFormat: Table of Requirements arranged by the states.
"States have varied requirements on who is eligible to request a list of voters, what information the list contains, what information is kept confidential and how the information contained in voter lists may be used."
Reports
U.S. Census Bureau: Voting and Registration
U.S. Census Bureau site containing tables, reports and links to other sites about voting and registering to vote for Presidential and Congressional elections in the U.S. "In election years, the Current Population Survey collects data on reported voting and registration, and later reports stats by turnout, age, race and origin."
- U.S. Census Bureau: Geographic LevelsCounties
Metropolitan and Micropolitan Areas
Offshore Areas
Economic Places
Puerto Rico Planning Regions
Regions and Divisions
States
ZIP Codes
Geographic Hierarchy for Island Areas
Statistics/Data/Maps
- David Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Free U.S. Presidential election information and maps from 1789 forward. Results from individual states from 1848 forward. Datasets from the 1990s forward available for a fee. Selected more current gubernatorial and senatorial race results also available. Latest presidential results 2020. - Elections and Voting Data GuidePrinceton University librarian Jeremy Darrington's guide showing sources of data down to the precinct level. Includes elections for the President and Congress as well as for statewide and local and municipal elections.
- Election StatisticsOfficial vote counts from the clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives for federal elections from the official sources of the various states and territories starting with the 1920 election forward.See a state by state breakdown of the number of votes received for each candidate for President, Senate and House of Representatives.
- Electoral-vote.comOriginally designed to provide data about electoral votes. Now expanded to include polling data for federal house and senate races on a state-by-state basis.
- A New Nation Votes"Searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy (presently 1787-1827)" from Tufts University and the American Antiquarian Society. Download "the election returns dataset for offline analysis, including both state-by state records and the authority records."
- OpenElectionsThe first free, comprehensive, standardized, linked set of election data for the United States, including federal and statewide offices. Winner of the Knight Foundation's News Challenge.
- Record of American Democracy (ROAD) 1984-1990Data includes election returns, socioeconomic summaries, and demographic measures of the American public at unusually low levels of geographic aggregation (SPSS, or SAS packages need to be used).
- U. S. Election Statistics (University of Michigan)Links to extensive election information organized by the following categories: vote totals; votes by voter characteristics; electoral college; voter registration; and state statistics. Check Rice holdings for the commercial databases mentioned.
- U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide (Library of Congress)This resource guide compiles a list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections. All of the print publications listed in this guide can be consulted on-site at the Library of Congress.
- Voting AmericaCreated by the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond to provide analysis of and cinematic and interactive maps for the U.S. Presidential elections from 1840-2004. Provides election data to the county level.
2016 Presidential Election Results
- Key 2016 President Election Results by State from Politico
Map and chart showing electoral votes by state.
National Atlas
- National Atlas of the United States: Presidential Elections, 1789-2008
Download or view maps of Presidential election popular and electoral votes from 1789-2008.
Rice Voting Data
Election Results/National Level
- CQ Voting & Elections Collection This link opens in a new windowIntegrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material for U.S. elections.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowData Planet contains political data such as voting and elections results from a variety of sources including: CQ Roll Call, the Census, the Federal Election Commission, Vital Statistics on the Presidency, Supreme Court Compendium, America Votes, and CQ Almanac.
Sage's Video tutorial to use the CQ Voting & Elections Collection to find data and analysis on all aspects of American elections. This dynamic research tool provides in-depth insight into the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
Texas State Election Results
Selected: County Election Results
- Harris County Election ResultsLive results, early voting, archives, election rosters, election reports.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University