Asian Studies: Home
Welcome
Welcome to the Asian studies resource guide. Here you will find multiple resources to start your research. Please choose from the topics in the tabs across the top of this window. Please do not hesitate to contact me or the other subject librarians.
Other guides of interest to Asian studies scholars:
Related Departments at Rice University
Portals to Asian studies resources
- Asian History - Oxford Research Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowLearn about Asian history in its broadest sense from prehistory to the present and into the future (Oxford University Press).
- China Research Gateway This link opens in a new windowThis database is "a centralized means for discovery and access to an unparalleled breadth of Chinese resources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, patents, and more (East View)." This database replaces Rice's subscription to CNKI--it includes the same content as well as additional material.
Asian Studies -- the WWW Virtual Library
The Virtual Library: Asian Studies is a huge clearing house for electronic and other resources available for Asian studies. The extensive coverage includes sections on Bangladesh, Burma, China, Japan, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kashmir, Macau, Mongolia and many other topics.
Digital South Asia Library
A project of the Center for Research Libraries, this Website provides access to information about contemporary and historical South Asia – including full-text documents, statistical data, electronic images, cartographic representations, and pedagogical resources for language instruction.
Digital Resources for Asia Studies -- Harvard College Library
