LibGuides: History of Great Britain and the British Empire: Parliamentary Records -- Online

State Papers Online

State Papers Online
Papers from the British royal archives, covering the reign of Henry VIII through the reign of George III (the late 16th century through the early 19th century).
Rice University owns access to the following modules:
- State Papers Online, 1509-1714:
- Part I: The Tudors, Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603
- Part II: The Tudors, Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603
- Part III: The Stuarts: James I to Anne, 1603-1714
- Part IV: The Stuarts: James I to Anne, 1603-1714

- State Papers Online, Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782:
- Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military and Naval and the Registers of the Privy Council
- Part II: State Papers Foreign: Low Countries and Germany
- Part III: State Papers Foreign: Western Europe
- Part IV: State Papers Foreign: Scandinavia, Eastern Europe and Turkey

- State Papers Online, the Stuart and Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle, 1579-1823:
Colonial State Papers
Papers related to governmental and other activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies of Great Britain, originally presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757.

Records of the British Parliament

U.K. Parliamentary Papers
The U.K. Parliamentary Papers consists of the following modules:
● House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 18th Century, 19th Century and 20th Century (1688-2004)
● House of Lords Parliamentary Papers (1800-1910)
● Hansard (1803-2005)
● Eighteenth Century Parliamentary Papers Collection, which is comprised of: 1) Harper Collection of Private Bills (1695-1814); 2) House of Commons Sessional Papers (1715-1800); 3) House of Lords Sessional Papers (1714-1805); 4) Journals of the House of Commons (1688-1834); 5) Journals of the House of Lords (1688-1834); 6) Local and Personal Acts (1797-1834); and 7) Parliamentary Register (1780-1796).
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers via C19
Bibliographic information for parliamentary records and papers from the British House of Commons from the 1800s and early 1900s.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Finding aids and bibliographic information for books, periodicals, newspapers, and other publications from the nineteenth century, in literature, law, history, then-contemporary issues, and other subjects.
Included sources:
- Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue
- The Nineteenth Century
- American Periodicals
- British Periodicals
- Cotgreave's Index
- An Index to Legal Periodical Literature
- Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811-1849
- Periodicals Index Online
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
- Stead's Index to Periodical Literature
- The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey
- The U.S. Serial Set
- Archive Finder
- Palmer's Index to The Times
- The "Bookman" Directory of Booksellers, Publishers and Authors
- Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism

Hansard Parliamentary Debates
Hansard (the Official Report) is the edited verbatim report of proceedings of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords beginning in 1800.
Daily Debates from Hansard are published on this website the next working day by 6am.
House of Commons debates by date archive 1988-2016
Browse House of Commons debates from November 1988 to March 2016 on statements, petitions, oral and written questions and answers.