History of Great Britain and the British Empire: Articles

Index to resources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life.

Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.

Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.

Provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
Access provided by the Frederica Killgore Endowment.

Bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogs).

Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790— and is a good source for foreign newspapers.
*Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic.

The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. Dates of coverage: 1981 - .

The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Users can perform automatic bibliographic searches in the International Medieval Bibliography Online. International Encyclopaedia of the Middle Ages Online is a supplement to Lexikon des Mittelalters online, providing original articles that cover the time period 300-1500 CE, in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.

IBZ online contains over 2.1 million journal articles from over 6,000 journals covering the years 1983-2001. Approx. 120,000 entries are added to the database annually. (1983- updated monthly).

Periodicals Index Online began as Periodicals Contents Index at Harvard University. Articles from over 900 humanities and social sciences periodicals with nineteenth century content have been indexed. (1790-1919)

WoK is a database platform providing content in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

The largest database of periodicals and serials in the world. It contains over 1,2 million titles in all languages, published from 1500 to the present day.

Formerly called the Royal Historical Society Bibliography, this is an authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day.

C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Within Series I are the main multi-title, periodical indices, spanning nearly all Anglo-American periodicals of the late eighteenth through early twentieth century. PP reproduces the indexing from: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1907), Index to Periodicals (1890-1902) (Ed. William T. Stead), Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals, Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1899), ... and many more. Series V provides online access to the Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the U.S., 1774-1882, Compilation of the Message and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1897), Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Commons (1803-1830) and Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Lords (1803-1830).

"Eight Centuries is a vast database of historical citations and links to full text documents. It aggregates scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, art work and images. Eight Centuries currently comprises 27,408,426 discrete links to primary source historical documents in 24 languages (Paratext)." This collection is the first stop for researching pre-1960 materials. it aggregates all kinds of indexes to books, periodicals, newspapers, government documents and patents into a single resource.

Provides structured information relating to all the recorded inhabitants of England from the late sixth to the late eleventh century.