History of Great Britain and the British Empire: Reference
Encyclopedias
- British History OnlineBritish History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800.
- Archaeology Data Service Library (ADS Library) This link opens in a new windowArchaeology Data Services (formerly known as BIAB) provides information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland, including over 100,000 references to publication from 1940 onwards. To that dataset they have added records from earlier bibliographies, containing records from as far back as 1695.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new windowFormerly called the Royal Historical Society Bibliography, this is an authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day.
- Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages This link opens in a new windowThe standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Users can perform automatic bibliographic searches in the International Medieval Bibliography Online. International Encyclopaedia of the Middle Ages Online is a supplement to Lexikon des Mittelalters online, providing original articles that cover the time period 300-1500 CE, in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.
Selected Reference Resources
The Kings and Queens of Britain by ISBN: 0198609566Publication Date: 2005-04-21This browsable dictionary gives a detailed history of the kings and queens of Britain, ranging from mythical and early pre-conquest rulers to the present House of Windsor. Covering English, Scottish, Welsh, and Irish Monarchs, the entries are ordered in sections, by regions for pre-1066 monarchs, and then by royal lines. Detailed boxed entries give information on themes such as Coronations and Regalia, and on significant royal residences or traditions like Sandringham House and Touching for the King's Evil, while illustrations include images of various monarchs, as well as regional maps and genealogies. With comprehensive coverage of the rulers, their regnal dates, policies, characters, and the roles they played in shaping history, it is an ideal reference for students of European history.
- Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University