Linguistics: Corpora
Texts and Corpora
- Linguistic Data Consortium Online (LDC) This link opens in a new windowRice University membership in the LDC provides its faculty, students and staff access to hundreds of corpora of language data. Please contact Anna Shparberg
for an account.
- English-Corpora.orgAn indispensable collection of materials on the varieties of English spoken in over 20 countries. Includes Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) and Balanced Corpus of Historical American English (COHA)
CHILDES
Child Language Data Exchange System.
English Lexicon Project
Affords access to a large set of lexical characteristics, along with behavioral data from visual lexical decision and naming studies of 40,481 words and 40,481 nonwords.
Max Planck Institute for Linguistics: Data and Corpora
Numerous browsable data archives and language corpora collected at the MPI.
Michigan Corpus of Academic Spoken English
A searchable collection of transcripts of academic speech events recorded at the University of Michigan.
MRC Psycholinguistic Database
The MRC Psycholinguistic Database is A machine usable dictionary containing over 150000 words with up to 26 linguistic and psycholinguistic attributes for each (e.g. pronunciation, part of speech, word frequency). Psycholinguistic Database was the basis for the "Oxford Psycholinguistic Database" available for Apple Macs from Oxford University Press. The dictionary may be of use to researchers in psychology or linguistics to develop sets of experimental stimuli, or those in artificial intelligence and computer science who require psychological and linguistic descriptions of words.
Open Language Archives Community (OLAC)
An international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources.
TalkBank
Aims to foster fundamental research in the study of human and animal communication by constructing sample databases within each of the subfields studying communication.
WordNet
A lexical database for English.
Natural Language Toolkit
NLTK is a leading platform for building Python programs to work with human language data. It provides easy-to-use interfaces to over 50 corpora and lexical resources such as WordNet, along with a suite of text processing libraries for classification, tokenization, stemming, tagging, parsing, and semantic reasoning, wrappers for industrial-strength NLP libraries, and an active discussion forum.
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA)
International Phonetic Alphabet
The notational standard for the phonetic representation of languages from the International Phonetic Association. Includes a new, interactive IPA chart with sounds.
IPA Vowel Chart
From the IPA website.