Linguistics: Databases

This is a comprehensive research tool published by the Permanent International Committee of Linguists under the auspices of the International Council of Philosophy and Humanistic Studies of UNESCO. With a tradition of over sixty-five years, the Linguistic Bibliography is by far the most comprehensive bibliography in the field. It is unique in its extensive coverage of non-Indo-European and lesser-known Indo-European languages, with special attention paid to endangered and extinct languages.

LLBA "abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics." Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Access more linguistics journals through this database.

This bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide between 1926 and the present.

L'Annee Philologique is a bibliography of classical languages and literature. Subscription is for unlimited users.

Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.

A database of full-text journals in a variety of the humanities and social science disciplines. It covers recent years including current issues and for some journals serves as an update to JSTOR.

Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.

Scholarly literature and indexed titles in anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.

SocIndex (formerly Sociological Abstracts) covers 3,000 journals (and some books) in sociology, social planning/policy, and related subjects. "...offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others."

Containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, the database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics, and other areas. Provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields.

Contains over 16,950,000 records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.