Government Information: FDLP and More
Official Publications of Foreign Countries
Westfall, Gloria. Guide to Official Publications of Foreign Countries / American Library Association, Government Documents Round Table. Bethesda, Md: CIS, 1997. Print. Fondren Library Government Publications - Reference ; J9.5 .G83 1997
Selected List of International Organizations
- G7 (Group of 7 Industrialized Democracies)In 2014, the G8 reverted to the original G7 when Russia was removed for issues involving Ukraine sovereignty and territory
Link Directory: Union of International Associations
United Nations
The United Nations was established on 24 October, 1945. Fondren Library holds thousands of historical collections of UN publications. Some are in paper and some in microform format, which can be searched using OneSearch, the Library's online catalog available through the Library's website. For access to more recent UN publications in full-text format, please use the links provided below. If you need any assistance with finding and accessing the UN publications, please don't hesitate to contact the Kelley Center at govhelp@rice.edu.
- UN Digital Library (UNDL)The content goes back to 1946. It includes sales publications in addition to UN documents, which are excluded from ODS.
- UN-iLibraryThe content goes back to 1946.
European Union
- European Union Depository Libraries The catalogue of the European Commission libraries connects you to data, information and research on EU integration and policies, law, economics, politics, international relations and more. External users can search for and consult open access resources, such as EU publications.
Treaties
Texts of Treaties
- Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties
- Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
- United Nations Treaties Collection
- United States Statutes at Large
Treaty Databases, Indexes, and Finding Aids
- Flare Treaty Index
- United States Treaties in Force (Archived)
- United States Treaties in Force (Current) Treaties in Force is published annually by the Department of State to provide information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States is presently a party. It lists those treaties and other international agreements in force for the United States as of the stated publication date for each edition. For older issues please search the library catalog.
- Treaty Affairs
- World Treaty Index
Native American Treaties
- Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
- Kappler's Supplement
- The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Treaties Between the U.S. and Native Americans
Current Treaty Actions and Congressional Treaty Actions
- Recent Treaty Actions
- Department of State: Finding Agreements
- United States Senate: Legislative Activities: Treaties
Tax Treaty Publications
Fondren Library Licensced Database
International Data and Statistics: Key Government Databases
Eurostat. Publications and statistics from the EU, with data in economics, population, agriculture, trade, transportation, the environment and more.
FAOSTAT. Data on agriculture, food supply, food security, prices, commodities, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.
Global Health Observatory. Health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization.
ILOSTAT. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, migration, strikes and more, from the International Labour Organization.
IMF eLibrary. Data on exchange and interest rates, balance of payments, government finance, national accounts, trade, foreign reserves & more.
OECD iLibrary. Data on economics, finance, trade, telecommunications, development, aid, migration, and other categories.
Statistics Mexico. In English and other languages.
UN Data. Economic, social, cultural, & demographic indicators from the United Nations and a selection of UN affiliated or related organizations.
UNCTADStat. Foreign Direct Investment and creative and information economy data from the UN Conference on Trade & Development.
United Nations Development Programme Indicators. Includes the Human Development Index (HDI) and Gender Inequality Index.
UNESCO Institute of Statistics. Global data in the fields of education, science & technology, culture and communication.
UNIDO Data Portal. Data on industries & mining from the United Nations Industrial Development Organization.
World Bank Data Catalog. Catalog of international economic, financial, and socio-economic data from the World Bank.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (Fondren Licensed Database) Consortium of institutions working to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan, ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in 130 countries.
- Statista (Fondren Licensed Database) Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries
- Statistical Insight (Fondren Licensed Database) Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.
Contact govhelp@rice.edu for assistance.
International Information by U.S. Government
- CIA's World Factbook This link opens in a new windowFrom the Central Intelligence Agency, this site provides country information organized by country, region, or topic. Topics include communications, defense, economy, flag and map, geography, government, people and transportation.
- Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices2000 and 2001 reports only. Congress abolished the reports in the fall of 2002.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesArchive of reports: 1999-2015
- Country Studies/Area HandbooksBackground information and a list of countries is available from the website. The series is no longer published, but is accessible for historical purposes
- Historical Diplomatic ListThrough 2016
- Key Officers of Foreign PostsThe above link is the current directory listed in the State Department's telephone directory page, scroll down to "Key Officers" to see the current list.
For older directories, please see HathiTrust digital library Key officers of foreign service posts.
- U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook)Produced annually for Congress, this report provides an historical record of U.S. aid to other countries in the world in either historical or constant dollars. Uses standard or customized tables to report all loans and grants authorized by the U.S. Government for each fiscal year including military assistance.
See the link on the USAID's Foreign Aid Explorer website under reports. - U.S. relations with (country name)State Department series formerly titled Background Notes. Title on page: U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets.
International News Sources
- U.S. Department of State: Foreign Press Centers The Foreign Press Centers support the Department's mission by deepening global understanding of U.S. policy, society, culture, and values through engagement with foreign media. The United States Department of State has Foreign Press Centers in Washington, D.C. and in New York, New York. We promote the depth, accuracy, and balance of foreign reporting from the U.S. by providing direct access to authoritative American information sources.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (FBIS) This link opens in a new window The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, providing a wealth of information from all countries outside of the U.S.—from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe." Electronically Fondren Library owns FBIS Daily Reports for the Middle East & Africa, Near East & South Asia 1974-1996 and Annexes 1974-1996. Search the catalog for other holdings in microform.
Open Source International Databases
- D-Place: Database of Places, Languages, Culture and Environment"Brings together a dispersed body of information on the language, geography, culture and environment of more than 1,400 human societies." The majority of the cultural descriptions in D-PLACE are based on ethnographic work carried out in the 19th and early-20th centuries (pre-1950).
International Government/Politics
- Canadian Parliamentary Publications: A Research Guide A guide to governmental and grey literature sources for public policy research.
- Droit (France)In French.
- Hansard: the Official Report of Debates in UK Parliament The official report of all Parliamentary debates. Find Members, their contributions, debates, petitions and divisions from published Hansard reports dating back over 200 years. Daily debates from Hansard are published on this website the next working day.The text of many parliamentary debates (also known as Hansard or the Official Report) can be accessed online for free, or via paid subscription services. Tp access the archive: https://archives.parliament.uk/online-resources/parliamentary-debates-hansard/
- International Affairs Resources This section of the WWW Virtual Library system is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language resources for a wide range of current international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. These sites are recommended for regular research use, and are carefully selected for their cost-free, authoritative, and reliable information and analysis.
- LegifranceReport 1951-. In French.
- Political Database of the Americas This link opens in a new windowJoint project between Georgetown University and other organizations has documentary and statistical political information on Latin America, including constitutions, electoral laws, legislative and executive branch information and election data.
- Last Updated: Nov 20, 2024 2:08 PM
- URL: https://libguides.rice.edu/gov
- Print Page