Business, Commerce and Finance - Government Sources: Home

The Federal Reserve's "Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions," commonly known as the "Beige Book," contains separate reports and a summary of anecdotal information about current economic conditions gathered from each of the twelve Federal Reserve Districts. It is published eight times per year and includes an archive.

Database and pdf documents that highlight the role academic research and technology transfer play in making the world a better place to live.

Conduct business online with the U.S. Government including filing taxes and wage reports, obtaining an export license or a state license, and obtaining or verifying an employer ID number or employee's Social Security number. Also includes business-related guides about launching, managing, and growing a business, buying from and selling to the U.S. Government, and obtaining financial assistance. Find data and statistics and information about exporting and international trade as well as state and local programs. Learn about laws and regulations and business taxes.

U.S. Department of Labor site for exploring careers; learning how to interview and write resumes; finding sources of education and training; finding wage, salary and benefit information; and locating employment services near you.

Provides links to various type of census information related to the construction industry.

Centralized government site for consumer information of all types and for all ages including financial education materials for children, students, adults and older adults. See what to consider when getting a home loan or spending for higher education. Search their database (http://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaintdatabase/) for complaints about mortgages, bank products, consumer loans, and federal and private student loans. Find market studies and consumer reports.

Provides the capability to file documents for an investigation as well as search for documents which have been submitted to the United States International Trade Commission (USITC).

Provides support to American businesses to begin or expand their export sales.
Includes information about export topics, training opportunities, trade shows, and trade missions.

Serves as an one-stop virtual marketplace to connect commercial vendors and the entire Federal contracting community. Allows participants to post, search, monitor, and retrieve commercial exchanges.

Provides online access to a chapter-by-chapter listing of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule and general notes.

Provides access to source materials cited by the author, Dr. Allan H. Meltzer. "Includes previously unpublished materials in the form of hearings and memoranda, as well as journal articles, Congressional hearings, working papers, and books no longer under copyright."

U.S. Census Bureau definitions and concepts of e-business

Provides links to U. S. government documents listing retail prices for typical consumer purchases, and wages for common occupations from the 1700s - 2000s.