Business, Commerce and Finance - Government Sources: Federal

Economic data for states and cities from the Commerce Department's Bureau of Economic Analysis. Also includes specialized data such as for Hurricane Katrina. Uses the Regional Input-Output Modeling System (RIMS II).

Provides economic statistics by geography, sector, and frequency.

Variety of calculators from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission to help with investment decisions.

Includes price indices for a representative basket of goods and services for the U.S., the four Census regions, size of city, cross-classifications of regions and size classes, and 26 local areas. Includes major groups of consumer expenditures and special categories such as services.

Provides access to Department of Defense procurement legacy (1966-2006) data. Register for a free account to view current data accessible from the Federal Procurement Data System Next Generation (FPDS-NG) website.

Procurement contract information can be found through Defense.gov

Profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Check the publications list for pdfs of broad topics such as Core Business Statistics; Accommodations and Food Services; Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation Industries to name a few.

Dates of Coverage: 1995-
Monthly compilation of economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance provided by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee. Two versions are available, ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF), but charts and graphs are absent from the ASCII text.

The Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers' annual report which provides an overview of the nation's economic progress.

Dates of Coverage: 1947-Present

SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms.

Dates of Coverage: 1994-present

Provides online access to federal procurement data and reports free to the public upon registering for a user account. For Department of Defense data and reports see also USASpending.gov (current) and DoD Procurement (1966-2006).

Federal Reserve System's main web page including links to all regional Federal Reserve Banks.

Provided by the U.S. Department of the Treasury to "make it easier for members of the public, software developers, and other innovators to promote financial capability by using finance data to create personal finance tools." "This page contains a selection of federal data sets relevant for financial consumers and investors, along with short descriptions of each data set and links to sites where you will be able to find, download, and share the data."

FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need. (from website)

Contains links to scanned images (PDF format) of historic economic statistical publications, releases, and documents including the annual Economic Report of the President. Coverage starts with the 19th and early 20th century for some economic and banking reports. Includes a link to Allan Meltzer’s A History of the Federal Reserve Volume 1: 1913-1951.

Contains data of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. Download in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. For "vintage" data see ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data). Since FRED has more robust tools than ALFRED, It is often easier to find a table in FRED and then access the corresponding ALFRED table from a link on FRED page.

Maps provide a cross-sectional perspective that lets you compare regions on a map while complementing and expanding the data analysis you get on a time-series graph. FRED has 9 types of maps: U.S. counties, U.S. metro areas, U.S. states, nations, Federal Reserve Districts, Census regions, Census divisions, BEA regions, and NECTAs (New England city and town areas).

Provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data (U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs, and U.S. tariff preference information).

International investment information from the U.S. government in tabular format; generally covers information from 1994 forward.

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, website contains links to over 700 official economic data publications of foreign national governments. Includes prices and price indexes, monetary reports, employment and GDP.

Provides critical economic and policy analysis and information to promote U.S. business competitiveness. Ensures industry and other stakeholder input into trade policy development, negotiations and implementation. Evaluates different industry and other stakeholder perspectives for domestic policy development, assessment and implementation.

The University of Wisconsin Digital Collection Center's collection of over 60 years of the annual Minerals Yearbook containing reviews, statistics, and economic and technical trends of the U.S. and foreign mineral and material industries.

Serves as the principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Industry codes developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.
Dates of Coverage: current

Provides employment and wage estimates for over 800 occupations for the nation, for individual states, and for metropolitan areas. Does not include self-employed persons.

Newsletter designed by librarians from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis for university and government document librarians, students, and the general public. In a non-technical manner provides economic information, articles, data, and websites from the Federal Reserve system and other government agencies. Prior to the Feb. 2012 issue, the newsletter was published under the title Liber8 Economic Information Newsletter.

Dates of Coverage: 2007- (with links to historical documents)

Created at the federal level to showcase the United States as the world’s premier business location and to provide easy access to federal-level programs and services related to business investment. Provides links to the activities of states. Includes a searchable guide of federal programs and services available to businesses operating in the United States including grants, loans, loan guarantees, and tax incentives.

Provides an overview and access to programs of the U.S. Small Business Administration and information about its history.

Browse by topic or search the SIC manual to access information for a specified 2,3, or 4-digit SIC. Also contains links for OSHA inspection data.

Information from the U.S. Small Business Administration to help plan, begin, manage, and/or sell a small business.

Includes both National Trade Data (U.S. merchandise exports, imports, trade balances) and State Export Data (state and regional exports of merchandise) from the International Trade Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Offers transportation information and commodity flow surveys from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Provides information about regulatory reform laws and actions, company filings, investor information, and litigation.

Maintained by the Department of Labor's Office of Labor-Management Standards. View and print union annual financial reports and reports filed by unions, union officers and employees, employers, and labor relations consultants for the year 2000 onward. Also contains links to order reports for earlier years

Access facsimiles of labor organization financial reports and retrieve union and financial data.

A searchable government databases of grants and funding resources, based on Census and GSA resources. Includes national, international, and local resources for such things as small business, family issues, education, and disaster assistance.

Provides a single location for federal contracting officers to use in obtaining appropriate Service Contract Act (SCA) and Davis-Bacon Act (DBA) wage determinations(WDs) for each official contract action. Also available to the general public.

Contains business data for 40,000 zip codes. Also available in CD-ROM, please check Fondren Library's online catalog.