Business, Commerce and Finance - Government Sources: International

Established in 1930 the mission of the BIS is "to serve central banks in their pursuit of monetary and financial stability, to foster international cooperation in those areas and to act as a bank for central banks." See also their BIS Statistics Explorer (browse pre-defined views of current data), BIS Statistics Warehouse (search tool) and BIS Statistical Bulletin (tabular data published concurrently with the BIS Quarterly Review).

Comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments using economic, political and market analysis prepared annually (primarily) by U.S. embassies.

Comprehensive listing of international statistics by topic maintained by Lloyd C. Russow of Philadelphia University.

FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need. (from website)

Map, chart and table presentations of international economic statistics. Check library catalog for new editions.

Videos (free to use and re-post) from the IMF. Includes historical and instructional videos (What is a Recession?) as well as press briefings. YouTube and downloadable versions are also available.

Provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data (U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs, and U.S. tariff preference information).

International investment information from the U.S. government in tabular format; generally covers information from 1994 forward.

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, website contains links to over 700 official economic data publications of foreign national governments. Includes prices and price indexes, monetary reports, employment and GDP.

Provides critical economic and policy analysis and information to promote U.S. business competitiveness. Ensures industry and other stakeholder input into trade policy development, negotiations and implementation. Evaluates different industry and other stakeholder perspectives for domestic policy development, assessment and implementation.

Currently includes data from 50 countries with varying frequencies from different countries. "The data differ significantly from country to country, for instance in terms of type of property, area covered, property vintage, priced unit, detailed compilation methods and seasonal adjustment." Use their Handbook on Residential Property Price Indices for best practices recommendations. Site updated at the end of each month.

Statistics Canada is a national statistical agency with programs organized by demographic and social, socio-economic, and economic areas. Provides access to statistical websites of other countries under "Links to Other Sites," then "Other Statistical Web Sites."

SBO statistics, published every 5 years, describe the characteristics of U.S. businesses by ownership category, i.e., by gender, Hispanic or Latino origin, and race of principal owners; by geographic area at the national, state, and sub-state regional levels; by 2-digit industry sector based on the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS); and by size of firm (employment and receipts).

Statistics from the UN, its various divisions, programmes, related organizations, and co-operating inter-governmental organizations.