Migration History: Maps
Maps & GIS Sources
- David Rumsey Map Collection This link opens in a new window"The historical map collection has over 60,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 20th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented."
- Old Maps OnlineRepository of historic maps from collections around the world. Easy to use gateway to historic maps in libraries around the world. Search by map interface.
- GIS Digital Humanities SitesA list of worldwide scholarly map or GIS-based interactive humanities projects arranged alphabetically and by continent/country.
- TopoView Historical Topographic Map Collection from the USGSIncludes large and small scale maps between 1884 and 2006 in GeoPDFs and GeoTIFF, JPEG and KMZ.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionOnline map collection covering the world, countries, states, cities, etc. from the University of Texas at Austin. Includes historic and modern maps. Includes color version of Sanborn Fire Insurance maps and its key to the colors and abbreviations.
- Historical Map Web SitesLinks to more Historic Map Web Sites, organized by Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
- Royal Geographical Society Archive This link opens in a new window"The Society's archive contains vast collections of documents, maps, photographs, expedition reports, manuscript materials and books, and span 500 years of geography, travel and exploration." (Wiley)
United States
- American Memory Project from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new windowA gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.
- Congressional by ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSerial Set Maps, 1789-present are included as the subscription to ProQuest Congressional database
- Historic USGS Topographic MapsView historic US topo maps from different time periods and scales.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaExplore over 10 million items from libraries, archives, and museums. Free access to photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more.
- US Census BureauIncludes downloadable data and maps on a variety of subjects.
- Library of Congress Map CollectionsThe Geography and Map Division holds over 4.5 million items, only a small fraction have been converted to digital form. The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress.
- National Historical Geographical System (NHGIS)"Provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2013." See instructions about how to use the NHGIS Data Finder on the Census Data Guide under Data Sources.
Asia
- Japanese Historical MapsThe Japanese Historical Map Collection contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World. Represented in this online collection are over 1,900 images of maps and books from this Collection.
- G. William Skinner Map Collection (University of Washington Libraries)"This collection includes original maps from 19th century Japanese villages and French departments, as well as detailed topographic maps used by the Japanese military in their invasion of China." (UW)
Africa
- Afriterra"The Afriterra Library embraces a non-profit mission to access, preserve, and apply the cartographic record of Africa, enabling broader interpretation and transformative education. This resource is achieved by cataloging, digitizing, and displaying more than 5,000 of the rarest historical maps focused on Africa. The content spans over 500 years, covering all regions and scales, in 8 different languages, "
- 16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa"This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th century"
- The British Library Maps of African Online"these maps represent areas of special European interest in Africa during the 19th and 20th century. Many of these regions came under direct British control during the Victorian era for the strategic or economic advantages they offered, and became independent in the 20th century. The maps are almost entirely topographical, prepared by the (British) War Office, colonial surveys, and other official mapping authorities."
Europe
- A Vision of Britain through TimeFrom 1800s to modern day, includes maps, statistical trends, travel writings and historical descriptions by use of extensive data, interactive charts & maps and tutorials.
- G. William Skinner Map Collection (University of Washington Libraries)"This collection includes original maps from 19th century Japanese villages and French departments, as well as detailed topographic maps used by the Japanese military in their invasion of China." (UW)
- Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval CivilizationsThe Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.
Maps at Fondren Library
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Edited by J. A. Tablert, The Barriangton Atlas of the Greek and Roman World is a comprehensive atlas spanning the entire period and spatial spread of Greek and Roman civilization. The print edition contains 102 color topographic maps, covering the British Isles and the Azores eastward across Europe and North Africa, up the Nile Valley through the Near East to Afghanistan and western China.
Fondren Ref-Atlas
G1033 .B3 2000.
Atlas Miller -- a richly illustrated Portuguese atlas, published in 1519.
Woodson Research Center G3200 1519 .A8 2006
Juan Vespucci Mapamundi -- Mapa portulano de Juan Vespucci, created in 1526.
Library Service Center - Restricted Use G3200 1526 .V3 1999
Coastal charts of the Americas and west Africa from the School of Luís Teixeira, circa 1585.
Government Publications - Maps G3200 .T459 1993
Maps of Magellan's Voyage
Roteiro de todos os sinais, conhecimentos, fundos, baixos, alturas, e derrotas que há na costa do Brasil desde o cabo de Santo Agostinho até ao estreito de Fernão de Magalhães / leitura, introdução e notas de Melba Ferreira da Costa.
Stacks VK967 .R68 1988
The Waldseemüller Map, 1516
Die älteste karte mit dem namen Amerika aus dem jahre 1507 und die Carta marina aus dem jahre 1516 des M. Waldseemüller (Ilacomilus). Hrsg. mit Unterstützung der Kaiserlichen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Wien, von Prof. Jos. Fischer S.J., und Prof. Fr. r.v. Wieser.
Library Service Center - WRC E125.V6 W16
The Rotz Atlas (1542)
The maps and text of the Boke of idrography presented by Jean Rotz to Henry VIII : now in the British Library / edited by Helen Wallis ; with a foreword by Viscount Eccles.
Library Service Center - Restricted Use G1025 .R689 1981
Carta del Cantino, 1502
Charta del navicare per le isole novamente trovate in la parte de l'India- : Carta del Cantino / Ministero per i Beni e le Attività Culturali ; Biblioteca Estense Universitaria.
Woodson Research Center G3200 1502 .C3 2004&
Vallard atlas, 1547
Woodson Research Center G3200 1547 .V26 2008
Atlas de Fernão Vaz Dourado.
Woodson Research Center, G3200 1571 .D68 2012.